Considering Avtex Snipe, remove existing Status aerial?

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Mack100, Feb 18, 2015.

  1. Mack100

    Mack100 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    691
    Location:
    here
    Having some work done soon on the motorhome (Gaslow and alarm mainly) and I'm considering having an Avtex Snipe fitted while we're at it.
    Haven't really decided on which model but as we don't miss the TV at all when we're on the Continent maybe the basic one would do the trick.
    Being mindful of weight and duplication of equipment I'm wondering whether having the existing Status removed at the same time is a good idea.
    Comments gratefully received.
     
  2. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    There is no real benefit from removing the Status antenna .. weight is negligible..
    Having both terrestrial and satellite antenna can be useful when one or the other isn't available.. ie .. when the satellite dish may be shielded by trees or other buildings.. it does happen.

    Also when you come to sell the van better if it has the Status for the new owner, I'm guessing you won't leave the Snipe behind
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2015
  3. Mack100

    Mack100 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    691
    Location:
    here
    Thanks for the reply Jim, will consider what you said.
     
  4. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,501
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
  5. Mack100

    Mack100 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    691
    Location:
    here
    Thanks Andy
     
Loading...

Share This Page