Free Member
Apr 17, 2012
Surrey
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hello - hope to be picking up our Motorhome in a few days and off touring Europe. We already have questions - the first being - what is the best way to power a laptop when we're not staying on sites with hook-ups?
All advice gratefully received. Thanks in advance.

slobadoberbob

Free Member
Jun 1, 2009
Kent, garden of England
Funster No
MH
Winnebago 23' something
Exp
25 years & counting
charge it via the Inverter

We charge ours via the inverter ... a pure sin wave (not modified) .. that allows us to run mains items from the batteries so we can charge the laptop just the same as if we were at home. We have a genny in the chassis being an RV and can top of our batteries at anytime we need to as the Sterling Inverter is also a 4 stage battery charger (combi).

But there are lots of ways to do it as you will see from the suggestions.

Bob

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
A Woosh bang
I would say you need a 4kw genny, at least four 120ah leisure batteries and a solar panel of at least 180 watt..
Rig up a 3kw inverter.. only the best say a Sterling pure sine wave .. plug in.. bob's your uncle ... ::bigsmile:

or you could just do as Graham said.. :thumb:

edit.. oh dear bob beat me again:ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

slobadoberbob

Free Member
Jun 1, 2009
Kent, garden of England
Funster No
MH
Winnebago 23' something
Exp
25 years & counting
please note I am not his uncle!!!!!!

I would say you need a 4kw genny, at least four 120ah leisure batteries and a solar panel of at least 180 watt..
Rig up a 3kw inverter.. only the best say a Sterling pure sine wave .. plug in.. bob's your uncle ... ::bigsmile:

or you could just do as Graham said.. :thumb:

edit.. oh dear bob beat me again:ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO: