Computer & 12 volt ?????

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by old-mo, Dec 20, 2009.

  1. old-mo

    old-mo Funster Extra Special Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    12,717
    Likes Received:
    38,630
    Location:
    Dorset
    Firstly my appologies if this in the wrong section.. :Doh:

    My lad has a combined TV/Radio/MP player and games consul all built into one unit,, up till now it has been brilliant,, but now any disc/CD/DVD that is put in wont play,, I think the drive has packed up cos it dont go round,,,

    Now can some one tell me we have a 12 volt universal thingy which will fit almost any type of electronic devise,,

    So he can watch DVD`s and play games while on the move can I plug one of the "Laptops" into this gadget ?? cos the built in battery only lasts a couple of hours..

    I dont want to ruin one of the laptops by trying this without a bit of advise..

    Thanks in Anticipation..

    Maurice..
     
  2. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Hi Maurice..

    short answer NO ..

    lappys have different voltages depending on make .. between 14 and 24 vdc

    you need to buy a 12v lappy power suppy unit, you can get a generic one with selectable out-puts to suite different lappys .. they also have a selection of plugs or tips .

    check the back of the laptop to see what the correct supply voltage is.

    jim

    edit

    I know you are in Spain but it's something like this you need ..

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/module.aspx?TabID=1&criteria=usb&ModuleNo=43515&C=SO&U=Strat15

    if you buy a power supply unit, check the wattage and make sure it is rated at or above the laptops wattage..
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2009
  3. johnsandywhite

    johnsandywhite Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Doncaster/Spain
    :Smile: Hi Maurice (old-mo). I have an adjustable 12 volt unit that puts out between 15 volts and 19 volts and you can change the polarity. The Polarity and the voltage are the important points to note.
    Either on your mains adaptor or on the Laptop itself should be that information. Provided you 12 volt converter can get close to the voltage and have the correct polarity? Then there should be NO PROBLEM. :thumb:

    Looks like Jim was answering while I was still typing. Not to worry. It's not a race after all is it?
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2009
  4. Snowbird

    Snowbird Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,141
    Likes Received:
    16,407
    Location:
    Liverpool.
    Hi, We have the 12 volt power lead from Argos used all the time in the RV to power the laptop.
    Wifey uses it on the move to play games and sort out photo`s that she has taken.
    Never had a problem with it,motor running or not.
     
  5. old-mo

    old-mo Funster Extra Special Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    12,717
    Likes Received:
    38,630
    Location:
    Dorset
    Thanks Jim, John & Snowbird..

    I think I will give that a miss,, knowing my luck I will knacker the puter..

    Another one for you..
    We have as far as I can see or tell an "Inverter" which is supplying a gang of 3 UK type 13 amp sockets,(We have never tried to use this), Could I run the computer of of this as we are going along ? or is it likely to ruin the battery`s,, I am not sure which battery it is hooked up to I would think the leisure batteries but not sure,, we do have a large solar panel which normally seems to keep the batterys pretty well topped up..

    Thanks Yet Again..

    Maurice.
     
  6. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    No problem.. the inverter will be on the leisure batteries which are being charged as you drive..:thumb:
     
  7. old-mo

    old-mo Funster Extra Special Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    12,717
    Likes Received:
    38,630
    Location:
    Dorset
    Thanks very much Jim, much appreciated. :thumb:
     
  8. Snowbird

    Snowbird Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,141
    Likes Received:
    16,407
    Location:
    Liverpool.
    Hi Maurice, Sorry about the confusion, I was under the impresion that you had a dedicated 12 volt power cord for your laptop.
    Re, the other question about the inverter powering the laptop.
    My HP wont run off an inverter,thats why I got the 12 volt dedicated power suply.
     
  9. peterholden

    peterholden Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Inverter not likely to ruin battery but could damage or not run the Laptop unless it is an expensive inverter that produces a pure sine wave output.

    Stick to one of the gadgets that converts 12v to the input voltage of your laptop. I bought mine from CPC (http://cpc.farnell.com) and it works a treat with both my Acer laptop and my new Acer laptop.
     
  10. johnsandywhite

    johnsandywhite Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Doncaster/Spain
    :Cool: I have run ALL my Laptops and a Full size computer and Monitor on my Inverters. The ONLY problem I had was with Toshibas. The first, a really old one would NOT work via an Inverter. The later model would Provided there was Plenty of power in the batteries. Otherwise it would cause the Inverter to trip as if overloaded. There must be something in SOME of the Toshibas that do NOT like an average Inverter. Possibly a Sine wave Inverter would NOT be a problem with Toshibas?
    I have run Dell, HP, Sony, Acer, Fujitsu, Compaq and of course the troublesome (sometimes) Toshiba. :thumb:
     
Loading...

Share This Page