cold cab recirculate air

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by Angela Dyer, Feb 23, 2015.

  1. Angela Dyer

    Angela Dyer Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Hi. I know this has been talked about so much that it is boring now.
    When I face the dashboard what switch do I look for to "recirculate"
    I am freezing cold in our Autotrail Cheyenne.
    Having taped belts, stuffed cushions in corners, put curtains across. I am flummoxed.
    I need to try the recirculate but don't know how
    Kindest regards
     
  2. gus-lopez

    gus-lopez Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    4,337
    Likes Received:
    7,869
    Location:
    Lorca,Murcia,Spain
    [​IMG] Should look like this .
     
  3. ivorantony

    ivorantony Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    London SE
    I would be helpful if you stated the base model of your Motorhome,
    But basically the switch or control will show and circular symbol on one end and parallel lines on the other, it should be clear from your operators handbook,
    But make sure you don't leave it on recirculating air when driving otherwise you will start steaming up inside,
     
  4. Angela Dyer

    Angela Dyer Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Thank you. I will look tomorrow when it is light.
     
  5. davejen

    davejen Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    688
    Location:
    Kirkpatrick Fleming Dumfries
    Good, but is your van based on a fiat or mercedes?, if a merc press the air distribution dial, and a red light should show, this is recirculation mode.
    Cheers, Dave(y)
     
  6. Phil J.

    Phil J. Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Clay Cross, Derbyshire
    We had draughts in our 07 Ducato cab and I was advised that the early 06 onwards model has a vent in the side of the door frame, I guess, about 4 or 5 inches long which causes the problem. I put some tape over them - problem solved. Apparently they did away with them on later models.
     
  7. Angela Dyer

    Angela Dyer Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Hi. It is Fiat based.
    I will have a look at the doors also.
    Last night was so draughty the "two" layers of curtain across back of seats, plus a fur throw on top of that and the wind was still blowing them.about.
    Think we have ghosts. x
     
  8. Angela Dyer

    Angela Dyer Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Where are the vents in the door.?
     
  9. rb62

    rb62 Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    5,360
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Our 2010 Fiat,there was also another thread on draughty fiat cabs not long ago!

    20150224_084112.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,264
    Likes Received:
    12,069
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    if in doubt just manually close all the vents on the dash, on ours which is a Merc so not much help to you, even on recirc 2 vents stay open to fresh air

    then turn the heating up, even further:D
     
  11. Phil J.

    Phil J. Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Clay Cross, Derbyshire
    Yes, exactly as RB62's picture.
     
  12. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,210
    Likes Received:
    5,001
    Location:
    West Sussex
    What year, what model?
    X244 (pre 2006) are known for draughty doors and most people seal the vents in them
    We had an X250 with manual air only ever had and wind blowing through the vents in extreme conditions (70mph wind) close the outside vent by turning the airflow selector switch , R/H knob. Climate control models the vents should self close when ignition is off.
    I have seen reports on another forum of Autotrails having droughts through under floor vents in the cab.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Angela Dyer

    Angela Dyer Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    It was uncanny just watching the 3 layers across the back of chairs, blowing away madly.
    I will look at doors and circulation this morning.
    I think we have ghosts
     
  14. Angela Dyer

    Angela Dyer Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    It is year 2004' autotrail 630.Our first ever try at this m/h holidays.
    Bought from an acquaintance.
    Looking into vents and recirculate as we speak.
     
  15. Angela Dyer

    Angela Dyer Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Well, I opened the curtains at the back of chairs. The cold hit me with a vengeance.
    All is sealed as it should be. No vents in doors.
    I give up.
    I have now put a double quilt tucked under above cab bed and hanging down back of chairs. Then on a rail I have curtains.
    Let's see what tonight brings.
    I will soon be on the lookout for recommendations on m/h that are not draughty.
    Not putting up with this.
    Thanks all
     
  16. vin0114

    vin0114 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    659
    Location:
    Sheffield
    just try seeing if there's cold air entering the cab area from where the seatbelts are attached to the tensioners. There was a post some time ago describing large open areas below these openings that could be covered.
     
  17. Angela Dyer

    Angela Dyer Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    I have taped everywhere that I felt a draught. Have run out of ideas now.
    Even with a quilt, thick curtains, then dressed curtains hanging at back of chairs, the curtains are still blowing.
    I have a gremlin.
    I will be on the lookout for a m/h with a back lounge for next winter.
    Thanks for your help.
     
  18. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,210
    Likes Received:
    5,001
    Location:
    West Sussex
    If it's that bad with the curtains moving you would expect the source to be obvious. Are you using Silver Screens, I am thinking is just your blow air heating creating the draft and with these cold winds we have at present without screens the glass in the cab will be very cold, cooling down the cab area.
     
  19. mike mcglynn

    mike mcglynn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Location:
    St. Helens MERSEYSIDE
    Hi, We have a 2006 Cheyenne and after taping the vents on the doors up we still had a draught so I bunged tissues into the holes by the seat belt holders ,then I looked underneath the nearside behind the passenger door there is a large hole which is the source of the draught so that was blocked off with a rag stuffed up it problem now solved and toasty.(y)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Angela Dyer

    Angela Dyer Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Mike McGowan..where exactly is this hole.You said underneath the nearside behind the passenger door. Do you mean under the chair.
    I need to know exactly as I have cushions stuffed everywhere..Will have to remove them to find hole.
    I appreciate your help
     
Loading...

Share This Page