Chrome Rules.

Discussion in 'Computers' started by hilldweller, Dec 12, 2010.

  1. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,462
    Likes Received:
    25,155
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Today I PMed Jim to say that over a few days now the forum has been pants.

    "You're using Firefox" he said.

    "Errrrrr, Yes. What do you know I don't".

    "Well FF has been screwing me, go use Chrome".

    I have, it's it's mind blowing. The screen scroll speed is in a different league. All timeout and slowdown problems are gone.

    A year ago Scotjimland said "Try Chrome", I did and it was just OK. So in the meantime it looks like FF has gone down hill and Chrome has had a turbo fitted.

    So FUNsters, if you are slow and lethargic, get yourself Chromed.
     
  2. jonandshell

    jonandshell Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,261
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Location:
    West Norfolk
    We do Chrome too!
    Best discovery since French aires!
     
  3. jhorsf

    jhorsf Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,157
    Likes Received:
    8,067
    Location:
    DERBYSHIRE
    Mine has been pants with firefox now I will try chrome:thumb:
     
  4. Larrynwin

    Larrynwin Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8,518
    Likes Received:
    12,734
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Been on Chrome for ages , the bees knees :thumb:
     
  5. Bailey58

    Bailey58 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6,380
    Likes Received:
    9,665
    Location:
    Norfolk and Toftir.
    Thought it was TalkTalk slowing me down with Traffic management, I'm on FF too so I'll have a look at Chrome. :thumb:
     
  6. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,861
    Likes Received:
    76,260
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    I have always been a fan of Firefox but the last couple of upgrades have really degraded the performance. It's been crashing as well as being slow, especially on data heavy sites like this one. chrome on the other hand is definitely the better browser at the moment.:thumb:
     
  7. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,257
    Likes Received:
    34,513
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    I've been using FF for a couple of months and it was mainly fine until yesterday when Fun started to become slow when loading pages. The only other problem I've noticed is in signing in to PayPal when a reload is usually needed.

    Don't really fancy Chrome because of what appeared to be intrusive Google sign-up last time I looked at it. Anyone any comments on that?

    Graham
     
  8. Road Runner

    Road Runner Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14,196
    Likes Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Europe
    How do I import internet explorer bookmarks?
     
  9. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,539
    Likes Received:
    11,670
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Just tried Chrome, sorry still prefer FF and it has been no problem for us. :thumb:
     
  10. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    Same here Ken :thumb:
    terry
     
  11. Road Runner

    Road Runner Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14,196
    Likes Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Europe
    The site is very slow on IE for me.
     
  12. johnp10

    johnp10 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,642
    Likes Received:
    14,214
    Location:
    North Lincolnshire
    I just use bog standard internet explorer, google (not chrome) is home page.
    No problems.
     
  13. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,462
    Likes Received:
    25,155
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    There is a spanner top right, try that. It has imported FF bookmarks for me.
     
  14. Brisey

    Brisey Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    6,448
    Likes Received:
    7,056
    Location:
    Tropical Bar,Benidorm.
    I have been using FireFox for quite a while and it has always performed well. However the last few days it has been a right pain. Keeps telling me that the server at MHF has timed out and to try again. I have downloaded Chrome and it is very fast.
     
  15. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    I have had Chrome on my small Sony and Jan's Dell for about a year .. great browser ..

    I had Firefox on my old faithful iBook simply because Google Chrome don't support Power PC Macs ( Pre Intel ) :Angry: but last week FF was like a bag of nails, and Safari is now also slow and buggy on the pre Intel Macs , freezing is common ( Thanks Apple :Angry:)

    I went searching and found Camino which
    Quote" is an open source web browser developed with a focus on providing the best possible experience for Mac OS X users. " unquote.

    and it is great ..

    so, if you have a PPC Mac try Camino .. the dogs nuts :thumb:

    http://caminobrowser.org/
     
  16. Road Runner

    Road Runner Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14,196
    Likes Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Europe
    It only sees keen to let me have FF import favourites
     
  17. Bailey58

    Bailey58 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6,380
    Likes Received:
    9,665
    Location:
    Norfolk and Toftir.

    Yep just the same for me! :Angry:
     
  18. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,462
    Likes Received:
    25,155
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    No problem says Firefox

    From Firefox:
    =================================================
    Answer to question: Long pauses in loading pages, click a second time and page appears, all happened in last week. Others confirm my findings.

    cor-el has posted an answer to the question
    Long pauses in loading pages, click a second time and page appears, all happened in last week. Others confirm my findings..

    ========

    No problems here.

    * "Clear the Cache": Tools > Options > Advanced > Network > Offline Storage (Cache): "Clear Now"
    * "Remove the Cookies" from sites that cause problems: Tools > Options > Privacy > Cookies: "Show Cookies"

    Start Firefox in [[Safe Mode]] to check if one of the add-ons is causing the problem (switch to the DEFAULT theme: Tools > Add-ons > Themes).
    * Don't make any changes on the Safe mode start window.

    See:
    * [[Troubleshooting extensions and themes]]
    * [[Troubleshooting plugins]]

    ========

    I've not tried it yet, it does NOT explain why many of us are suddenly experiencing this problem.
     
  19. grumps147

    grumps147 Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    879
    Location:
    St.Helens
    I had the same problems as mentioned, FF slow the other day. However it is now back to normal. Loaded Chrome last night. When FF is working its difficult to see which is fastest, so I will probably hold Chrome in reserve.

    What a pain to transfer bookmarks - still dont know how i did it.

    Gave up on IE about 2 years ago, constant crashing.
     
  20. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,861
    Likes Received:
    76,260
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    They won't admit anything is wrong but I am sure there will be a point upgrade soon that will sort it out, meanwhile I have found some good bookmarking addons for Chrome, and I just discovered that the best bit of software in the world (roboform) works with chrome, I doubt I will be using FF for a while.:Smile:

     
Loading...

Share This Page