Cheyenne cruise control

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Ianne, Mar 20, 2015.

  1. Ianne

    Ianne Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes
    Need a little help if possible from those who are tech savvy (I'm not in the least!)

    Our pre-loved Autotrail Cheyenne 630 SE (2005) came with cruise control but looking through the documentation looks like this was an add-on at purchase. It's a bit Heath Robinson especially the levers location which is right behind and touching the indicator lever.

    It 'works' at 40 mph, struggles at 50 and above that is non-existent.

    Anyone know of a fix, replacement option or excellent specialist in the Lancashire area who may be able to help? Long journeys are a real pain at the moment!
     
  2. Brisey

    Brisey Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    6,431
    Likes Received:
    6,960
    Location:
    Tropical Bar,Benidorm.
    Dave Newell could well be your man. Why not give him a call.

    Brisey.
     
  3. Ianne

    Ianne Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes
    Thanks Brisey. How do I get his number? Apologies if it is obvious but we're newbies to the site.
     
  4. Brisey

    Brisey Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    6,431
    Likes Received:
    6,960
    Location:
    Tropical Bar,Benidorm.
    He advertises on the Fun forum banner at the top of the page.

    Brisey.

    Edit, here is his number. 01952587702
     
  5. davejen

    davejen Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    688
    Location:
    Kirkpatrick Fleming Dumfries
    I second that advice, great guy, a
    And funster discount too!
    CheersDave
     
  6. dave newell lvs

    dave newell lvs Trader-Vehicle Services

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,509
    Likes Received:
    3,309
    Location:
    Telford, Shropshire

    When you say "It 'works' at 40 mph, struggles at 50 and above that is non-existent." Exactly how does it behave? In what way does it "struggle" at 50MPH? Can you provide a clear digital photo of the stalk, it may help me to figure out your problem.

    D.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Ianne

    Ianne Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes
    Hi Dave. Thnx for the response. At 40, once set it will lose a few mph then maintain that speed. At 50 it maintains set speed for about 30 seconds then just decreases. Above that it will not even kick in. Photo attached that I hope is clear. Enough

    image.jpg image.jpg
     
  8. mjltigger

    mjltigger Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,527
    Likes Received:
    2,529
    Location:
    Trowbridge
    I wonder if its an old vac pump style cruise control and needa new bellows or pipe. I replaced all the pipes on my landrover cruise control with the air pipe from an aquarium and it was brilliant
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. dave newell lvs

    dave newell lvs Trader-Vehicle Services

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,509
    Likes Received:
    3,309
    Location:
    Telford, Shropshire
    Hi Lanne, yes I recognise the stalk, it may be (and probably is) an AP300 vacuum servo system, an AP500 electric servo system or an AP800/900 fully electronic system. If you look under the bonnet is there a unit with a bowden cable disappearing through the bulkhead? If its AP300 vacuum servo it will be cylindrical, about 3" dia and 3" long with bowden cable out of one end and four core wiring at the other, often mounted to the central black plastic housing in top centre of engine bay. AP500 electric servo is often fitted near the battery and is a blocky lump with bowden cable coming out of side. Possible causes of the fault you describe are a frayed bowden cable or weak vacuum, out of the two the frayed cable is more likely. Have a look at the accelerator pedal from down in the footwell, if its AP300/500 there should be a bracket attached to the pedal with the bowden cable inner connected to it.

    I will send you diagnostic instructions on Monday once you have identified which system it is. you can reply on here or by e mail to dave@davenewell.co.uk

    D.
     
    • Like Like x 5
  10. Ianne

    Ianne Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes
    Hi, we are in Spain at the moment and when it finally stops raining will get out and have a look! Thanks for your continuing help, much appreciated.
     
Loading...

Share This Page