Checking solar panel otput

Discussion in 'Solar Power' started by LPB, Oct 28, 2015.

  1. LPB

    LPB Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Crawley
    Hi funsters,
    I need to check what output my panels are giving, if any.
    I have an EBL99 with a LR1218 attached for the solar.
    Will the output show on my Hymer panel or can I measure it from the LR1218?

    Thanks
    Lloyd.
     
  2. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,216
    Likes Received:
    5,013
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Depends what panel you have, need to run the batteries down a bit first, if checking on the panel if your panel does not show the solar charge separately add about 0.4 to the reading as that is what the vans electrics will be drawing with the panel on. Also you can unplug the input to the LR1218 and connect a multimeter in-line.

    Note: If your panel is capable of showing the solar charge you will have to program it to do it, you have to go into the setup mode and enter the pin number to get at the setting. All Hymers use the same pin Schudt or Hymer or another member will tell you the number.
     
  3. LPB

    LPB Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Crawley
    Thanks Lenny,
    If I use a multimeter what setting should I use.
    I think I will also probably buy the Schaudt solar panel as mentioned in another thread last night. Can anyone recommend where this might be cheapest?
    Thanks,
    Lloyd.
     
  4. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Which control panel do you have? The number should be printed on it. I have an LR1218 connected to an EBL 99 and an IT992 control panel. The charging current from the solar panel is displayed on the current meter of the IT992. No extra Shaudt solar meter required.
     
  5. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,216
    Likes Received:
    5,013
    Location:
    West Sussex
    On cheap multimeters there is normally only one high current setting (10a).
    Ludo Space often have good prices on Schaudt parts, I brought from them, service is good.
     
  6. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,702
    Likes Received:
    3,207
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    If measuring the current with a multimeter make sure it is in series in the circuit. If connected in parallel with the panel or battery something will blow.
    Probably stating the obvious but if it isn't then the warning is relevant
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. LPB

    LPB Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Crawley
    Jeanluc
    I have the same panel - just checked.
    How does it show on that?
    I am a newbie so am using that as my excuse!

    Reason I need to know if its charging ok is that I am going to France shortly and will use some aires en-route, so probably will have no
    hook-up.
    Thanks
    Lloyd.
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2015
Loading...

Share This Page