cheapo chinese GPS .. adding POI's ?

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Jaws, Oct 7, 2016.

  1. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,347
    Likes Received:
    21,718
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    As the title suggests really.
    Connected the unit to the computer but cannot see where the POI's are stored.. or indeed what format they should be in..
    Any help appreciated..
    BTW, it is one of the Goldbay things off of fleabay.
    Ordered Wednesday arrived this morning.
    Stuck in a few test routes ( inc Benidorm and Rovereto in Italy ) and all worked as expected
     
  2. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,347
    Likes Received:
    21,718
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Update.. Found a folder called POI but it is stone empty so still no clue as to what format POI's need to be in !
     
  3. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,462
    Likes Received:
    25,155
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    @GJH usually answers this one.


    You need a GPS to find Rovereto !!!!!!!!!!!
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,257
    Likes Received:
    34,513
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    iGo software uses POIs in .kml format (like Google Earth).
     
  5. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
  6. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
    Further to my previous. The POI folder in the contents folder is for the system POIs that come with the unit. These are .poi files and the fact that the folder is empty would suggest that there are no pois loaded on the system as standard.
     
  7. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,347
    Likes Received:
    21,718
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Sussed it out in th eend guys.. Added lpg and a few others.. More or less bought the the unit to a complete halt.
    Deleted them and away she went again.
    The processor just cannot handle any more data by the looks of it.
    Still, that has not settled the argument as to what to take out the van.. The Tomtom will come out and the Garmin will remain
    The new thing will be used for routing and the Garmin for camp sites etc etc
     
  8. Langtoftlad

    Langtoftlad Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,617
    Likes Received:
    3,959
    Location:
    Langtoft, South Lincs
    Could you split the POI's into smaller regional based chunks - or are the files not ordered in locations?
    Or
    Could you store the various folders - LPG etc on the SD card & simply copy the one you need now into the poi folder.
    Would that give the poor cheap underpowered processor a chance ???
     
  9. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,462
    Likes Received:
    25,155
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    An alternative solution..............

    Any reasonable Android device, phone, tablet plus Copilot Live.

    For MH I ran it on a 7" tablet.

    But now I've transferred it to a new Doogge X3 phone ( £35 ) for the bike.
     
  10. Bart

    Bart Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,381
    Likes Received:
    382
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    just looked at that and it seemed very expensive , are them one of payments and get you lifetime map updates do you know ?
     
  11. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,347
    Likes Received:
    21,718
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Dunno yet..
    Today I will be doing some more testing.. But as of last night, even a tiny poi file ( gas in France.. 65 k ) stops it dead.
     
  12. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,347
    Likes Received:
    21,718
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    I have now tried a few different things all to no avail.
    The moment ANY file is loaded in to the POI ( no matter how small ) the thing runs out of memory.
     
  13. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,257
    Likes Received:
    34,513
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Can you put a larger Micro SD card in and copy the full installation there?
     
  14. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,462
    Likes Received:
    25,155
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    I paid something between £20-30 years ago and it's a one off lifetime payment. What's more I keep putting on different tablets/phones as they die or get upgraded and no complaints from them.

    PS. Just looked on their website and it shows UK as £19 but all I get is "installed" for the one I have which is whole of Europe - up to Russia. You will probably get the price if you look.
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2016
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. EssexBoy

    EssexBoy Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    South Essex
    Hi John
    I had this "stop dead" thing with Archie's camping poi set until I found out it has a known format error, so I deleted it and away I went again....

    So, I would suspect your kml files are faulty. Where did you get them?
     
  16. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,347
    Likes Received:
    21,718
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    From the official LPG location site and from Archies..

    Not really mate.. The things are really a posh PDA running on Windows ( with all the usual file and link issues ! )
    Its not a major issue as I have put all I wanted on it on the Garmin now anyway.. and we always run at least two GPS's with one in the cupboard as backup !!! ( now that really is paranoia ! )
     
  17. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
    John,

    what files are you putting in the poi folder ( I assume it is the poi folder straight off the contents folder)

    john
     
  18. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,347
    Likes Received:
    21,718
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Tried that one and the personal data file poi folder .. Putting KLM files in there and the BMP files in the icon folder all as per instructions John.
     
  19. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,257
    Likes Received:
    34,513
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Dunno about paranoia John :) I've been running a comparison of a TomTom and a Mio alongside the Garmin for 6 months :D
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,347
    Likes Received:
    21,718
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Another update.. And a good one too :)
    I contacted the seller who suggested a couple of things ( doing a hard reset etc etc ) but they did not work ..

    He then suggested I delete any map sets I was unlikely to use.
    Took a quick look and lo !
    I aint gonna be taking it to Oz, nor New Zealand nor Russia.
    Deleted ( actually cut and moved them to a folder on my machine just in case ! ) all unwanted maps.
    Added the LPG and Archies POI's and away she went !
    All up and running and working just fine..
    Best £33 I have spent in a LONG time !
     
Loading...

Share This Page