Charlies guide to polishing acrylic /plastic windows / headlights (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
Many MH owners have plastic or acrylic windows on their vans and its often been asked how to deal with these when they become scratched by perhaps bushes or tree branches when going down narrow lanes or become swirled from washing.

The truth is polishing these elements is about as easy as it gets when we endevour to remove these scratch or swirl marks from any surfaces .

There are many products designed to polish these areas . Do we need them ? AN EMPHATIC NO !

To restore plastic / acrylic windows. Window guards , Front headlights, Or rear light clusters all you need are ordinary traditional car bodywork polishes. All the fancy products are re packaged and/or Re branded automotive polishes only several times the price .

As with any polishing task Always start with a low cut polish and increase the level of cut only if the marks are disappearing . A low cut is safe and will correct the finish but may just take a wee while longer.

Always lubricate the polishing pad with water misted over whatever you are polishing. This will accelerate the speed at so as to break the polish down so it will cut and will aid the overall speed of finish.

ALWAYS try a small area first before committing to say a large window. Its just to ensure the polish and pad combination is not destructive.

Headlights that have yellowed can be restored but is fair to say they will usually discolor after time but polishing them back time after time is acceptable.

By machine select a low cut polish and a soft pad (Usual blue) Polish at no more than speed number 3 which is nice and slow. Slow really is so much safer and there is far less risk of damage from heat build up. Plus its much easier anyway !