Charlies guide to black streaks ..... (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
Im writing this because the subject of removing and trying to rid our vehicles of black streaks comes up time and time again. I do worry when I read what some people are using to remove the dreaded streaks from their very expensive Motor Homes. Motor Homes that we in general have invested a large amount of money on and in general are our pride and joy.

Firstly where do the mysterious streaks appear from and how do we stop them ?

The streaks are nothing more than airborne pollutants that fall from the sky. All the pollution we humans produce goes up and some of it comes down again. Fumes and soot from car, Dust from building or manufacturing. Dust and whatever from farming and an endless catalouge of muck descends on our vehicles. When it rains this muck runs down the sides of the vehicles and black streaks as we call the appear.

Unless we can store our vehicles indoors there is no escape ! It is inevitable and how much streaking you get depends on where you live and where the vehicles are parked. Compare it if you will to houses in heavy industrial areas. The houses turn black and so does everything around it.

So prevention is nigh on impossible. But we can reduce how the muck sticks to our vehicles.

The smoother the surface this muck falls on the less it will stick. Also the smoother the surface the easier it is to remove.

Stand a paving slab up against a wall and an equal sized pane of glass and spray water at them. Which surface retains the water ? Now polish or wax the glass and spray with water again.. Which one is shedding the water fastest ? The slippier and more slick the surface the less muck sticks.