Charging Info - Peace of mind

Discussion in 'Auto-Trail' started by pvw10, Dec 31, 2013.

  1. pvw10

    pvw10 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Hi all,
    whilst parked/stored with the 240v on my power readings are Leisure 13.5v, cab 12.2v.
    I thought they would both be balanced around 13v ?

    Thoughts would be appreciated as to why there not.
     
  2. seanoo

    seanoo Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    normandy
    if you are looking at your control panel readout then its no surprise that they dont make sense. if its anything like mine its way out! to charge your vehicle battery whilt on hookup you must press the button with the battery symbol on. this toggles between cab batt and habitation batt . put a multimeter on your battery terminals and check it for a accurate reading . happy new year sean:Smile:
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2013
    • Like Like x 1
  3. pvw10

    pvw10 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Cheers Sean,
    i will at some point but the daft thing about my Renault is the cab battery is underfloor and takes an age to access same.
    As you say though its the only real way to check.
     
  4. seanoo

    seanoo Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    normandy
    hi paul , maybe you could check your battery power at your ciggy lighter on the dash? sean
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,432
    Likes Received:
    25,108
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Our electroblock trickle charges the cab battery from the leisure battery so it always settles lower than the leisure battery.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. pvw10

    pvw10 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Yes good shout mate.

    I think (until a better plan arises) i will stick a meter on each battery one at a time (2 leisure 1 cab) then switch on the charger and see what i get.
     
  7. Trikeman

    Trikeman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    2,756
    Location:
    North Somerrzet.
    On ours (Autotrail - Sargent) the charger seems to charge the leisure batteries first, and then the cab (starter) battery. When I put a multimeter on certainly the leisure batteries seem to get the priority with output charge which makes sense I suppose.

    Regards,

    Trikeman. :Wink:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,706
    Likes Received:
    3,211
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    On mine the leisure batteries get all the charge from EHU or solar until they reach 13.6v then some charge goes to the vehicle battery.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. pvw10

    pvw10 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Mmm seems to be a pattern developing here……..
     
  10. capinpugwash

    capinpugwash Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    630
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Just a thought but if you want to check the state of the starter battery with a meter use the "jump start" access point in the engine bay.
     
  11. pvw10

    pvw10 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Great shout thanks didn't think of that. If I turn the charger off, put a meter on these points, then turn the charger back on I should see the increased volts ?
     
  12. SC 05 OUT

    SC 05 OUT Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,274
    Likes Received:
    6,399
    Location:
    doncaster
    are you sure about that, its my understanding you need to toogle the cab battery to ON on the controler pannel to get it charge from the the 240 volt charger

    Remember when taking readings either on the pannal or direct of the battery /ies you should take then off charge for about 1/2 an hour prior to the the voltage flote and settle
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Larby

    Larby Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    3,873
    Location:
    North Essex

    I have the EC 200 as shown. There is a black and white battery shown, in fact in use. When this is chosen the 12v supply and charge is the vehicle battery.(see voltage showing). The unit defaults to the leisure battery for charge and supply.
    If not on EHU you can use as emergency supply but controller will cut off connection when vehicle battery's voltage drops too far.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
  14. Vlad The Impaler

    Vlad The Impaler Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    2,177
    Location:
    Rutland
    On my 2004 Apache I had to fit a relay which when leisure batteries are full,sends charge to cab batt when on hookup or from solar panels!





    Vlad
     
  15. pvw10

    pvw10 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Gloucester
    I like Scout thought whichever selection you left shown either cab or leisure that took priority.
    My panel looks identical to Larbys (most likely is with differing name) but is a Sargent 2, the right buttons toggle between batteries, this is where I choose my priority, or not ?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. pvw10

    pvw10 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Hi Vlad yes me also.

    Later models have this built in but isn't clear what and how it works.
     
  17. Larby

    Larby Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    3,873
    Location:
    North Essex
    NOT

    You choose power/supply from 2nd button top left. Leftmost is on/off.
    The 2nd left chooses which battery.
    The up/down on right show voltage of batteries, also used to set clock,, alarm, etc.
    Not my actual controller as mine isn't a Lunar but exactly the same otherwise.
     
  18. pvw10

    pvw10 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Now that does make sense mine does this. So when stored (with hook up) I should leave the top left on, then the black/white on also ?
     
  19. Trikeman

    Trikeman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    2,756
    Location:
    North Somerrzet.

    That's how my 2006 Apache works too Vlad - its automatic and prioritises the charge to the leisure battery bank.

    On my previous van I had switches to change over from leisure to cab battery similar to what Larby describes, but no switches on panels on my current one.

    Trikeman. :Wink:
     
    • Like Like x 2
  20. SC 05 OUT

    SC 05 OUT Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,274
    Likes Received:
    6,399
    Location:
    doncaster
    Interesting, so theres seems to have been an update around 2005/6 mines a 2005 and only has manual selection hab or cab, or has yours been altered with something like a battery 2 battery charge?
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page