Celiac problems

Discussion in 'Funsters on a diet' started by Portland, Jan 5, 2015.

1. Portland

Portland Funster

I am new to this problem and find getting clear information on food is like platting fog! Do other Funsters have this problem and could you offer any advise . Already registered with the Celiac's (n)

2. Debs

Debs Funster

Hi my daughter was diagnosed with coeliac disease aged 9 - she's 24 now, also has type 1 diabetes which she was diagnosed with age 3.

A couple of other conditions too, mostly connected to the immune system.

What sort of things are you having problems with?

• Like Like x 1
  3. pappajohn

pappajohn Funster Life Member

Basic start but you will know this already.

Gluten is a protein found in three types of cereal:
    wheat
    barley
    rye
    Gluten is found in any food that contains the above cereals, including:
    pasta
    cakes
    breakfast cereals
    most types of bread
    certain types of sauces
    some types of ready meals
    In addition, most beers are made from barley.

4. tinks703

tinks703 Funster

Hi, I was confirmed celiac 4 years ago and aged 67 it was hard to take, however now it is not a problem. Look at all food labels any mention of gluten ditch it. At the supermarket go to the free from part of the store. There you will see an ever increasing range of gluten free products, some are good others uck! Bread is the most difficult! See if you like any of them there is now a wide choice.
    I found by accident a farmers market baker who made gluten free bread. You always have to ask about gluten in particular if you are eating out.
    See if can eat cakes etc from spelt flour, every thing we bake now is made from it. All members of my family try to buy gluten free products, not always possible. Fruit veg meats are all gluten free unless are mixed with a sauce or product.
    Good luck there are quite a few celiacs out there. If you want any info just ask.

• Informative Informative x 1
  5. Puddleduck