crabman

Free Member
Mar 31, 2016
Anglesey Wales
Funster No
MH
just looking
Exp
I am new to MH and I want to know if a Carnet de Passage is required for a stay of approx. 6 months in France, Spain, Portugal, I have driven trucks all over Europe as well as cars and reading on some site I note that for motorhomes staying over in a country for a certain time a Carnet de Passage may be required, anyone know about this,

thanks in advance

crabs

Aug 18, 2014
Lorca,Murcia,Spain
Funster No
MH
Transit PVC
Exp
16 years since restarting
Legally, Once you are in an EU country over 90 days consecutively many require you to register as a resident. If you actually did this then the vehicle you are using would become illegal to drive as a resident cannot drive a foreign plated private vehicle ( commercials & hire employee's there is a different regime ).
Keep moving around & don't worry about it.
Any aggravation is only likely to be if there is an out vote.

Jul 13, 2008
Funster No
MH
Low profile
Exp
Since 2007
As above. Don't worry about it.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

vwalan

Funster
Sep 23, 2008
roche cornwall
Funster No
MH
lynton5th wheel
Exp
since a child
even then you dont need a carnet . if you pay the duty on entry .and get the refund on leaving .
the carnet makes it convenient thats all. back along egypt you couldnt get a carnet for so you just payed the tax and collected it back as you left . took a bit of time thats all.

Snowbird

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 24, 2009
Liverpool.
Funster No
MH
Fifth wheel.
Exp
Since 11-05-2000