Car trailers - what do you do with them? (1 Viewer)

pizzajohn

Free Member
Mar 2, 2014
newton abbot
Funster No
MH
on order
Exp
i'm a newbie
We're new to motor home ownership (AutoTrail Comanche) and, as my wife isn't too mobile we want to tow a car, on a trailer, so we can get about at any destination without manoeuvring 29ft of motor home in towns.

Our quandary is this, do sites/aires etc. allow trailers hooked up, or otherwise and, how can you secure them?

Jan 3, 2008
Pakefield, Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK
Funster No
MH
Looking
Exp
I think sites will have individual arrangements but if you can't get your motorhome and trailer in one space on an aire do not put the trailer in the next space and thereby take up two. You might be ok on a empty aire with lots of spaces but try it on anywhere busy one and you will be very unpopular indeed and certainly asked to move the trailer in no uncertain terms. You would be better to confine yourself to the larger aires rather than the small ones that only take 5 or so but you will have to make a judgement on arrival. As for securing the trailer I think there are others who know the solution better than me.

old-mo

Funster
Extra Special
LIFE MEMBER
Oct 16, 2008
Weymouth. Dorset...
Funster No
MH
Nearly aint got one.
Exp
Caravan & motorhome 45 + yrs
Just done a tour of Northern France and Northern Spain..

And out of 22 approx Aires we stayed at, there were less than 3 or 4 where we could have got the car on an "A" frame let alone our trailer..

It was seeing some of the Members lovely photo`s on Aires that made us decide not to take a trailer or "A" frame..

We have a disabled son, and usually take a car,,, but glad we did not on this trip...

Just for where some of the Aires are placed.. fabulous.. (y)

Some times it was knackering pushing a wheel chair every where.... But... a brilliant trip all the same.. (y)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Snowbird

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 24, 2009
Liverpool.
Funster No
MH
Fifth wheel.