Car Trailer, Charge Battery whilst Towing (1 Viewer)

zac

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 19, 2013
Basingstoke
Funster No
MH
Rapido A CLass 10000
Exp
since 2013
So just brought a car trailer with a motormover already fitted but it does not charge the battery when towing. I can only charge via mains using Ctek charger or via a 10w solar panel which was included. My other issue is the battery box is not waterproof and although at present not important i could do with some suggestions on how to fix both.

I am not good with electrics but this cant be a big job can it to wire from the battery into the 13 pin plug ? who should i be contacting to get this sort of thing sorted as rang a few towbar companies and they didnt want to know.

The battery box may be a bit more challenging but that can be done anywhen as for now i will just cover it up. It did have a wooden lid which flew off when i was bringing it home as i was not told it was not fixed down. Didnt find out till i stopped at a service station only to find the lid missing. At present i have just put together a make shift ply lid but it will definitly need sorting at some point.

Any pointers!

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
The 13 pin socket should already have the spare pins for a split charge, you just need a relay and wiring.
If you cant do it try a caravan or trailer dealers.

OP
OP
Z

zac

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 19, 2013
Basingstoke
Funster No
MH
Rapido A CLass 10000
Exp
since 2013
The 13 pin socket should already have the spare pins for a split charge, you just need a relay and wiring.
If you cant do it try a caravan or trailer dealers.
Thanks, i will see what trailer compaines are near me. for some reason the ones i have already called didnt want to know although they were towbar companies but essentially this is very similar as i am not asking them to do anything other than wire the battery so it charges whilst being towed.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements