Can I Use The Invertor To Power The Whole Van?

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Yorick, Apr 16, 2015.

  1. Yorick

    Yorick Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    5,689
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    I have a 300w inverter and it's fine. Can I plug my mains lead into the inverter and plug it into the round socket outside ?

    This way we'll have access to 3 plugs inside, rather than use an extension with bulky 4 plug sockets at the end.

    The only things we use are laptops and phone chargers.

    :)
     
  2. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    12,135
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    You can, if it is similar to my inverter it will give a loud squeal then go bang, or it might just blow a fuse, it will be trying to run your charger and fridge I would think needing a good few more than 300W

    I guess if you switch off the charger and have fridge on gas, it might then have a chance, but even a 300W inverter will draw a lot of amps, I know from my own flat battery experiences (y), better to have a multiplug on the inverter and plug all in at one place, but even 2 laptops might take more than 300W

    Good question though, I hope I am wrong :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Snowbird

    Snowbird Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,141
    Likes Received:
    16,405
    Location:
    Liverpool.
    I dont think your system will work well but both RMBs I have owned had a built in inverter that powered all sockets. There was a switch to switch between mains or inverter. They were 2 KW pure sine inverters though.
     
  4. Yorick

    Yorick Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    5,689
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Good point about the charger. Might stick with a multiplug :)
     
  5. TheDogMan

    TheDogMan Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    362
    Location:
    Rugby UK
    Mine powers all the sockets but I always ensure I switch the fridge from auto to gas before I switch on, generaly use it for microwave and my laptop and .... the wife and her sisters 2 x Ipads, mifi and ecig batteries, oh and the rechargeable torch and dyson hand held. too much !! I have 3 batteries and 240w of solar and still its tight sometimes, I think the 6 year old chassis battery may be buggered after the wife killed it a couple of years ago and it tops up from the leisure batteries, too much me thinks
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    7,742
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    It's also going to try to charge your battery same as hookup
     
  7. ASel

    ASel Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Gretna
    Our MH has a inverter built into the electrical system that powers all 240v sockets, except fridge and battery charger, when switched on which is done remotely from control panel.

    A "break before make switch" is utilised in the external mains power cuircuit to switch off the inverter before connecting the mains to the distribution panel.

    Some of the larger inverters also have this facility but then you have to have a way of isolating the fridge and battery charger.

    For a 300 w inverter this is overkill, would be more practical to get 12v power supplies for phones and laptops.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. WillH

    WillH Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,617
    Likes Received:
    1,289
    Location:
    SW Scotland
    As above, why not run everything off 12v and do away with the inverter?
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. Moodybrook

    Moodybrook Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    628
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Sort of hijacking this thread but can you guys illuminate me. I understand the Battery to the inverter is critical, shorter the better ! my query is, does it matter the same about the length of the multi sockets lead, to the inverter ?

    Thanks :)
     
  10. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,254
    Likes Received:
    5,054
    Location:
    West Sussex
    No it is not criticicle as long as they are lager enough to take the output from the in inverter or you have fitted circuit breakers or fuses of a lower ratting than the cable
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. Moodybrook

    Moodybrook Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    628
    Location:
    Dumfries
    That's just what I thought. Best to listen to advice though. Thanks Lenny (y)
     
  12. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,706
    Likes Received:
    3,211
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    A 300w inverter is a bit tiny to run sockets. I do have one of these, pure sine wave 300w, but is wired solely to supply the shaver sockets in the washroom. The main inverter is not pure sine wave and is fine for everything else (Kettle, toaster, hairdryer, microwave), but the toothbrush chargers are notoriously sensitive.
    The toothbrush charger is only 1w but 300w seems to be the smallest you can get.

    In time I will replace the main inverter with a pure sine wave one as they are getting much cheaper, but while it works have better things to spend my cash on.
     
  13. Theonlysue

    Theonlysue Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    2,830
    Location:
    Essex
    My 300 watt inverter would not charge my laptop, and I could not get a 12v one with the correct connector, so had a 1kw invertor fitted.
     
Loading...

Share This Page