Free Member
Apr 2, 2012
Streatham
Funster No
MH
bedford rascal nipper
Exp
I'm a newbie
The engine battery in my teeny camper is as dead as a dodo after the long winter. I called out the AA and although the man had a suitable battery to sell me in his van, he said that he had heard of people using a leisure battery to power campervan engines as they are designed to sit dormant for long periods, and that it may be worth getting one and then calling them back to install it. ( I'm hopeless at this stuff.:Sad:)

Well, what I want to know is,is this possible/advisable, has anyone done it and to what effect? i'd be really grateful for any advice on this. Thanks

Jun 30, 2010
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
1992 VW Auto sleeper Mono
Exp
Since 2005 this time
Mate! my take on it, and I stand to be corrected by the Intelligensia, is buy a normal Battery for your engine rather than a Leisure. also get yourself a battery charger, there's one going cheap in Aldi (or Lidl),

Make a point of running your motor every 7 to 10 days for at least 15 minutes during your "lay up" ,check your Battery Levels every 2-3 months if it's not a sealed battery.

Don't know your parking situation but try to move your baby, even if it is only 150mm/6 inches this prevents a flat spot forming on your tyres, Don't worry!:Doh: It's not Rocket Science:thumb:

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
a proper leisure battery isnt really suitable for prolonged engine starting as the batteries internal 'make up' is different.

engine batteries are designed for short bursts of very high current drain, maybe 400amps, whereas leisure are designed for long low current drains, maybe just 10amps

many cheap leisure batteries are usually just engine batteries rebadged as leisure batteries.

get yourself a decent engine battery and a means of keeping it charged when not in use.....either a mains charger at home or a battery to battery charger such as the Vanbitz battery master.