Can a laptop replace a TV

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by bernardfeay, Sep 30, 2014.

  1. bernardfeay

    bernardfeay Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    825
    Location:
    Bolton
    Just found out that my Avtex 19" TV has sound but no picture. I don't even get the illuminated green/white screen that lets you know it is switched on. I'm tempted to think it is time to put it in the bin and buy a new one but I have one question first.

    If I buy the right 17.3 inch laptop will it connect up easily to freesat?

    The freesat side of things has worked well and I know my way round making it find the signal well enough.
     
  2. bungy

    bungy Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    4,127
    Location:
    Welsh marches
    does the freesat box have a HDMI output - if so you can get laptops with hdmi input that would work for you
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. bernardfeay

    bernardfeay Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    825
    Location:
    Bolton
    Yes it does. Am I ok to get a laptop without a TV tuner and rely on the freesat box? It is very possible that I buy the laptop and make all the connections only for it to not work (that's me all over).
     
  4. bungy

    bungy Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    4,127
    Location:
    Welsh marches
    just had a look for one, they are quite rare and darned expensive

    Alternative would be a laptop with plugin tv tuner - good article here on it
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Clive

    Clive Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    1,088
    Location:
    Canvey Island
  6. gozomike

    gozomike Funster Life Member Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    662
    Location:
    Warwickshire - sometimes - but not often
    • Like Like x 1
  7. cranky

    cranky Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    455
    Location:
    essex
    I'v got a 19" Avtex in the garage. I changed it for one with a dvd player. PM me if interested.
     
  8. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Short answer yes, it can.. but just my opinion , why use an expensive lappy for tv.. it also has to sit somewhere.. there are plenty of cheap 12v tvs on the market that are easy to wall mount.
     
  9. greygit

    greygit Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    232
    Location:
    Forest of Dean, Glos, France and Spain
    :)
    I always have my laptop but we haven't got a TV so the thread is of interest to me.
     
  10. SuperMike

    SuperMike Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    1,019
    Location:
    St Albans

    No good, unless it has a 37" screen. :whistle:
     
  11. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    ok.. it was only my opinion..

    there are two ways of having TV on your laptop..

    If the laptop has an HDMI - IN .. you can connect the output of the Freesat or Freeview ..
    More info here

    Or, use a USB TV Freeview tuner.. more info here All About Freeview Tuners
    you will still need a decent outside aerial in all but very strong signal areas. ..
    Freeview Tuner Example
     
  12. Minxy Girl

    Minxy Girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,563
    Likes Received:
    9,939
    Location:
    E Yorks
    Using a laptop is possible, once the connections etc are sorted, but it is never as good as a proper TV IMV, usually takes more power to run and the screen can be affected more by light than a TV.

    Personally I'd see how much cranky above wants for his Avtex or get a standard TV (some come with 12v connections) and use that.
     
  13. bernardfeay

    bernardfeay Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    825
    Location:
    Bolton
    I've solved my problem. Turns out my TV is still in good working order. The leisure battery was almost totally out of power and could only provide enough juice to power the sound. Once I turned the engine on the picture came back. Sorry for wasting everybody's efforts.
     
  14. voyagerstan

    voyagerstan Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    torquay sometimes
    you need a solar panel not a tv :rolleyes:STAN
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. JJ

    JJ Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    14,561
    Likes Received:
    25,724
    Location:
    Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
    Not sure if a laptop can replace a TV but I know good company, interesting places and a Kindle can.


    JJ :cool:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. cranky

    cranky Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    455
    Location:
    essex
    I'll put it back in the garage then:(
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page