Cab battery

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by DavidG58, Aug 4, 2015.

  1. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,264
    Likes Received:
    12,067
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    Having had yet another close call on not starting due to flat battery I intend to change my battery this week, I don't even know exactly where it is, I am certainly going to struggle to get any detail off it

    How likely is it that it will be a standard battery as fitted to all the base chassis or is it likely to have been uprated as it was going on a motorhome?

    We use a local commercial vehicle place for servicing that do not have specific motorhome knowledge


    edit - I should have included that it is a Hymer on a Mercedes Sprinter LWB chassis (y)
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2015
  2. irnbru

    irnbru Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    5,307
    Likes Received:
    9,572
    Location:
    Glasgow
    At a guess I would say just the same battery as any other base chassis. It's starting the engine not the MH....but then what do I know..I'm just a woman:LOL:
     
    • Like Like x 5
  3. carolyn

    carolyn Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    1,514
    Location:
    Sherborne Dorset
    On our old van we just got our local mechanic to do it and I think it was just a normal one. He is a motorhomer so would know. He is very good but it was only about £100 fitted so I would think it wasn't anything fancy.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Bacchus

    Bacchus Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    4,275
    Location:
    Staines
    I would agree with irnbru, I can't see why anyone would change the cranking battery.

    Don't Halfords offer a fitting service for batteries? I know they do for headlight bulbs, I got them to fit one of mine once, feeling not like a proper man paying someone to change a bulb, but something broke and he was there for 45 minutes in the end so I felt not like a proper man, but at least a smug man...

    Not that I would suggest "using" people, but you could always ask them for a price? They'll come out and get the details for you then...
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,470
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
  6. Manic

    Manic Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    991
    Location:
    Uk
    Our Fiat based Hymer 2001, has it's engine battery on the left as you look in the engine bay and it's a standard battery. It shouldn't be to hard to replace yourself.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Cal54

    Cal54 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,269
    Likes Received:
    6,256
    Location:
    Lancaster
    My sister recently went to Motor Mania and had them replace the engine battery. It was set into the floor under the passengers feet. Not cheap but did go for the biggest that would fit.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,470
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    • Like Like x 1
  9. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,264
    Likes Received:
    12,067
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
  10. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,470
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    No sorry David I assumed yours was on a Fiat chassis :(
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,470
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Manic

    Manic Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    991
    Location:
    Uk
    Me too
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,264
    Likes Received:
    12,067
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    :LOL::LOL::LOL::LOL::LOL::LOL::LOL::LOL::LOL::LOL::LOL::LOL::LOL::LOL:

    not laughing at you, but I have zero skill levels when it comes to anything needing tools (y)

    the last electrical thing I did (other than change the odd fuse) burnt out a wiring loom on an old Maxi, cost me £100's to put it right, somebody else will definitely be doing this for me (y)

    edit - The Maxi wasn't old when I did it :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2015
    • Like Like x 2
  14. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,470
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    The later Fiat from late 2006 (X250) is in the cab floor (y)
     
  15. irnbru

    irnbru Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    5,307
    Likes Received:
    9,572
    Location:
    Glasgow
    We had KwikFit do ours in the last MH . Took the time to take the seat off and swap battery over for free...Well I guess it's in the cost of battery.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,454
    Likes Received:
    4,694
    Location:
    Guisborough
    Hi @DavidG58 I agree with the in the cab floor posts and yes it will be standard Sprinter, if they can fit one thats about 4 times normal size you might be OK.

    Martin
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,264
    Likes Received:
    12,067
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    I only had my phone plugged in the weekend, although I was using it as a hot spot, that does seem to kill the battery in the phone, but now suspect the real problem has been a weak cab battery all the time, nothing to do with my misuse / abuse :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. canopus

    canopus Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,818
    Likes Received:
    3,187
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Our starter battery is under the bonnet on our 616 Sprinter. I reckon when we need to replace it we will need Houdini to do the job, as there isn't room to swing a cat under there.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,781
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Our is on a 316 2003 Sprinter and it has a standard starter battery in the engine bay RHS looking in. Yours is more recent and may be in a different location. When ours failed a few years back (the evening before we were setting off) I called out the at-home recovery service that is part of the Comfort Insurance deal (RAC I think). The chap did not have a battery on board, but gave me the spec and I went into town to Halfords to get one which he had no difficulty ion fitting. Bosch Silver Dynamic with a 5 year warranty. Remind whoever fits it that they need to disconnect the starter battery from the charger if there is a handy fuse. I seem to remember that yours has a non-standard Reich box so I don't know where the fuse is, but in the case of a Schaudt EBL - the 50 amp fuse is next to the Starter battery normally.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,497
    Likes Received:
    3,696
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page