Buying a ferry ticket at the port or online? (1 Viewer)

Weinsbergaman

Free Member
Feb 8, 2015
Wirral, North West England
Funster No
MH
B Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi all,

We're flying out on Monday to collect our motorhome from Germany.

As I don't know how long we'll be there checking things over etc I haven't booked the ferry crossing as they seem to adhere to the booked time much more than they used to.

My question is would I be better booking online on the journey or waiting until I get to the port and pay at the booking office? Which would be the cheaper option? BTW I'm plannig on going to either Calais or Dunkirk, which one would you choose?

Thanks Antony

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
Book on-line, you might have a heart attack when you find out the prices at the port.:LOL:

Calais is only 15 miles further so not much in it, we use Dunkirk when picking up a van as our dealer drives it to the port & it's a bit closer. Last time I looked DFDS's price had gone up a lot probably get a better deal with P&O or MyFerryLink from Calais.

Feb 18, 2009
Guisborough North Yorkshi
Funster No
MH
Malibu T410
Exp
Since August 2008
When we returned from our ski trip in Feb we booked the night before through the Caravan Club on line, we got a price of £34 for a 7 metre van from Dunkirk.

Dec 30, 2008
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
since Dec 2008 after 10 years caravanning
Hi Antony, if travelling from Germany check out ferry from zeebrugge to Hull, may be a bit more expensive than calais but a lot less mileage,

Eric

OP
OP
Weinsbergaman

Weinsbergaman

Free Member
Feb 8, 2015
Funster No
MH
B Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
When we returned from our ski trip in Feb we booked the night before through the Caravan Club on line, we got a price of £34 for a 7 metre van from Dunkirk.