BT Openzone

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by Pat4Neil, Jul 21, 2012.

  1. Pat4Neil

    Pat4Neil Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    488
    Location:
    Essex
    It would appear that as a non BT subscriber I can purchase monthly access to their openzone wifi network.

    Has anyone used this service and can comment on how good it is

    Neil
     
  2. Chris

    Chris Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16,443
    Likes Received:
    34,535
    Location:
    kent
    I have used it in hotels and it's pretty good:thumb:
     
  3. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    7,560
    Location:
    Dumfries
    I have bt at home so get to use openzone and bt fon for free. I have used it many times and always found it to be really good managed to find BT fon in a campsite in France also
     
  4. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,342
    Likes Received:
    7,603
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    I bought a FON...
    http://corp.fon.com/en/products/simpl/

    Connected it at home to my Orange broadband and that now gives me access to BT openzones and other Fon sites... 1 off fee..
    New subscribers to BT are automatically enrolled as FON/OPENZONE sites unless they choose to opt out.. So in theory more should become avaiable.
    I have used it in France BUT not many sites there..
     
  5. dug

    dug

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Same as Tonka i bought, a fon and connected to my virgin cable at home,that was 2 weeks ago and still haven't found a Btfon site in range yet,not very impressed and i was advised by the guy at the Shrewsbury meet selling wifi kit.
    Have fun, Dug.
     
  6. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,342
    Likes Received:
    7,603
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    NOTE... I have and DO use many hotspots in uk, via fon/BT, some in towns on my smart phone and on my laptop using a wifi extender (faculty x).. So no issues with UK !!!!
    In France I have not found many and in fact the strangest and best one was in a little village in the middle of nowhere on a night it was it was lashing with rain.. I had my monies worth then..:thumb:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. John & Joan

    John & Joan Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,231
    Likes Received:
    660
    Location:
    Full Time on the road
    I was speaking to a Vodafone advisor on Thursday and I mentioned WiFi access. He told me that Vodafone data subscribers are able to access BT Openzone by using their Vodafone account username and password.

    I have yet to try this out as I am out of range of any BT site. I use my Vodafone contract dongle on the laptop and have found very few spots where I haven't had a connection.

    I have come across SFR WiFi sites in France (Normany & Brittany) that say that you can use the BT Openzone username & Password to get access.

    John
     
  8. Pat4Neil

    Pat4Neil Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    488
    Location:
    Essex
    Some great tips, the vodaphone suggestion looks promising, has anyone tried this

    Thanks for the tips

    Neil
     
  9. Chris

    Chris Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16,443
    Likes Received:
    34,535
    Location:
    kent
    I have. As usual with Vodafone it's not straightforward.

    I did eventually connect. I now do it via my BT account - far more logical/ straightforward.
     
  10. Addie

    Addie Trader - Motorhome Wifi

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    406
    Location:
    York
    FON has some pretty good coverage: http://maps.fon.com/

    I'm genuinely surprised you've had that experience, I must log onto FON a couple of times a week and often don't even require a booster to do so.
     
  11. John & Joan

    John & Joan Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,231
    Likes Received:
    660
    Location:
    Full Time on the road
    The 3 network also allows WiFi access to BT Openzone. It was after seeing this that I queried it with Vodafone.

    Thanks for the info, Treacle.

    John
     
Loading...

Share This Page