BT Openzone Wi-Fi hotspot

Discussion in 'Computers' started by ShiftZZ, Aug 1, 2010.

  1. ShiftZZ

    ShiftZZ Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    19,821
    Likes Received:
    35,893
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Anyone use / used BT Open zone Wi-Fi hotspot?

    Any good?


    ShiftZZ
     
  2. peter H

    peter H Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    661
    Location:
    Neath, South Wales
    yes

    it works, but is slow. (half meg typical)
    ok for emails etc but internet needs patience

    still much faster than 3g

    peter
     
  3. JJ

    JJ Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    14,561
    Likes Received:
    25,724
    Location:
    Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
    Good morning Peter...

    You have got me all confused (easily done I hear you say!)

    My 3G connection here is around 5 meg and in UK is 3 point something (TMobile)... surely this is a bit quicker than "half a meg"

    JJ :Smile:

    PS I use "Broadband Speed Checker" to test speed rather than take my ISP'sword for it!!!
     
  4. peter H

    peter H Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    661
    Location:
    Neath, South Wales
    With my local wifi thingie (bt home hub), it measures about 4 meg
    if i select BTFON OR BT OPENZONE, uses same hub and measures less than 0.4 meg

    not tried to measure 3g only, with wifi switched off, but seems to take ages to load. only use this if travelling etc.

    peter
     
  5. Maurice & Val

    Maurice & Val Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hornsea, East Yorkshire
    Use it all the time when I find it. Speed varies FON is fixed at 1/2Mb but openzone can be quicker the closer you are to the hub. I've put an external antenna and network receiver on my van which picks up signals from futher afield. Does a great job usually. If not it's back to the T-mobile dongle.
     
  6. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    What type of external antenna have you got. I have been looking at this one HERE
    Anyone tried one of these yet?
     
  7. barryd

    barryd Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,144
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    Yorkshire Dales
    To get any sort of distance you need a directional antenna with a gain of about 16-18db. I have one of these

    [​IMG]

    That picture was taken in France where I used it to access SFR or Neuf hotspots in houses similar to FON and BT Open Zone here. The houses were over 1 km away and it worked ok. It claims to be able to work at 5 miles away but pointed at a house 1 km or so is the limit really line of sight. It mounts high up on the back of the van normally.

    Its very good on campsites where you can park anywhere on the site and not have to take your laptop to reception or near where the wifi is located.

    I got it from here

    http://www.faculty-x.net/su2410-usb.htm
     
  8. Maurice & Val

    Maurice & Val Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hornsea, East Yorkshire
    Mine is one of these
    [ame]http://www.amazon.co.uk/Alfa-Adapter-AWUS036H-Magmount-Aerial/dp/B000WXSO76/ref=tag_tdp_sv_edpp_i[/ame]
    (the 1000mw version) with an external antenna on a long cable which came with it. The antenna itself is only about 5 inches high on a mini magmount about the diameter of 10p which I've fed through to the roof and glued down.
     
  9. Maurice & Val

    Maurice & Val Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hornsea, East Yorkshire
    Just been looking on Amazon, mine looks a bit out of date now. Had it around a year which in computer terms means it positively vintage by now.
     
  10. Carol

    Carol Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,356
    Likes Received:
    14,785
    Location:
    North Wales.
    Hi I am posting now on a Fon hot spot in Whitby, have used them before does not seem to be running to slow either. Got myself a BT dongle it searches out the sites and logs you on which is free or if I need to use the dongle as the sole means of logging on then I pay. at the moment I am on free for a month then just pay for what I use. But up to now have managed to use it with Open Zone & Fon so no charge.
     
  11. buttons

    buttons Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12,941
    Likes Received:
    10,710
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    The last time I used a BT connection I first had to purchase air time giving me a code to enter before connection. Is this now a free service or am I confused with another service offered by BT.
    Regarding my 3 dongle I have no problem using Skype with video connecting through my 3 dongle in most parts of this country, this would not be possible with a slow connection. :thumb:
     
  12. Soundman

    Soundman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Do you think this would work on a Vespa equally as well?

    Soundman
     
  13. barryd

    barryd Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,144
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    Yorkshire Dales
    Dont know if it would work better on a Vespa but it would certainly look better! Such lovely looking machines!
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Traveller_HA5_3DOM
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    316

Share This Page