BT Openzone for a MH?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by joner8888, Mar 21, 2013.

  1. joner8888

    joner8888 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2,190
    Likes Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    somerset
    I am thinking of changing my home Broadband from Plusnet to BT with openzone .
    When out in the Motor home is the BT openzone network any use.

    Can people who have it ,turn off any outside use so as to keep their own in house speed up.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,137
    Likes Received:
    7,712
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    yes I am on it but it doesnt work outside very well, impossable in the van, you have got to be really close to someone who has it and yes you can turn yours off but if you do yours doesnt work on someone elses
     
  3. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,137
    Likes Received:
    7,712
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    btw , doesnt make any difference to your speed either way
     
  4. paulmold

    paulmold Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    301
    Location:
    North Wales
    Yes I agree, you need to be within 20 metres or so of someones wifi e.g. parked outside their house so in the middle of a field its useless. Just get a dongle.
     
  5. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Not that it is relevant to your original question of course, but in a way, you are already with BT - they own PlusNet.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. dennismartin

    dennismartin Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    hull
    i have a fon and a wifi extender you can pick up signal from miles away
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2013
  7. journeyman

    journeyman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    390
    Location:
    NE Wales
    I agree, an extender will significantly increase your range.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2013
  8. journeyman

    journeyman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    390
    Location:
    NE Wales
    I agree, an extender will significantly increase your range. As an example if a site owner has BT Wifi, you may pick that up.
     
  9. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,137
    Likes Received:
    7,712
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    sorry i may be thick but what is a wifi extender
     
  10. peter H

    peter H Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    661
    Location:
    Neath, South Wales
  11. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,702
    Likes Received:
    3,207
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    I've just come back from Leobay (isle of Sheppey) and the owners BT is available at the far end of the site, though a bit weak. I didn't use it because I always forget my password :Doh:
     
    • Like Like x 2
  12. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,324
    Likes Received:
    7,579
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
  13. callumwa

    callumwa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,113
    Likes Received:
    4,517
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
    In my experience "Miles away" may be a bit ambitious.

    I have the Iboost directional antenna with WiFi. Supposedly one of the best currently on the market.

    http://www.motorhomewifi.com/product/iboost-d8-directional-system/


    It seems to work up to about one mile as long as you get the direction spot on.

    :Smile:

    p.s. I have BT and access to all their hotspots and FON and find them pretty useless unless you are virtually sitting right next to the hotspot.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2013
  14. dennismartin

    dennismartin Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    hull
    if you can get line of sight you can get miles (i have the same as yours )if buildings etc get in the way then not so good
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Spenders

    Spenders

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    362
    Location:
    Tadcaster
    So let me get this straight in my head.....

    I'm with Sky for my home broadband and can't face changinging to BT.... but if I buy the FON router thingymajig for about £35, and plug it into my Sky router (or the socket and the Sky router into the FON one!) then everyone else on FON can piggyback on my Sky broadband (securely) if they're passing my home, and whilst I am away from home I can piggyback on another FON members broadband cos I'll have been given the code as a FON member myself!

    And if I get a wifi extender (is that the same thing as I have heard described as a booster?) I'll be able to access wifi spots over a larger area (trees permitting! LOL)?

    What's the catch? Where do I sign?
     
  16. dennismartin

    dennismartin Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    hull
    no catch and if you take the aerial off the fon there wont be many connecting to your broadband
    you can also access some bt
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2013
  17. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    6,771
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    That's exactly my experience too Callum.

    Yep, that's the crucial factor, ie, line of sight.

    BTW, I've never found a FON hotspot outside the UK. :Sad:

    Cheers,

    Jock.
     
  18. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,137
    Likes Received:
    7,712
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    in Faro airport they have wifi and when you look for connection bt fon is there but it gets as far as asking for your password and thats it, wont connect
     
  19. Heyupluv

    Heyupluv Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,862
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    France,
    You bet.....and in Portugal...BT open zone linked to fon/zon:thumb:...we are thinking of joining fon in france.....sfr its automatic like BT in the uk:thumb:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Heyupluv

    Heyupluv Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,862
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    France,
    It does..... and we used it ... at Albufeira spot and fast:thumb: maybe your signal was not good enough...we had a signal booster on
     
Loading...

Share This Page