BT boardband

Discussion in 'Computers' started by 1948, Oct 31, 2010.

  1. 1948

    1948 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    surrey
    Since last week no boardband connection in the evening Been on the phone to India a few times to complain, not resolved. An engineer will call next week but will not call in the evening (connection works during the day) So I suspect he/she will find nothing wrong with the connection. Anyone out there had the same problem. Any suggestions
    Tried turning router off/on in the evening with no success.
     
  2. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    have you replaced the DSL micro filter ?

    This is one of the most common problems.. I've had three fail in the past six months .. pop out to the supermarket and buy one, only a few quid. and it's the fist thing BT will ask you to do before they will look into it ..
     
  3. 1948

    1948 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    surrey
    if does not account for why the connection is ok during the day It only drops off in the evening Surely if filter is faulty, it will fail all the time or duringt the day also. Thanks for your reply
     
  4. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    I had an intermittent fault , it was ok in the evening but would drop out in the morning ..

    I complained to Virgin who suggested replacing the filter.. I said I had already done so and the fault was intermittent .. but to keep them happy replaced it again.. and it worked .. I can't explain why .. now I keep a known good spare just in case ..

    edit.. is your phone still working when the broadband drops out ?
     
  5. 1948

    1948 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    surrey

    Thanks,
    trip to supermarket Tesco now hope they stock it.
    Phone works all the time
     
  6. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    good plan.. Tesco's are only £2.99 .. that's what I have at present .. however,

    maybe not the best so I've ordered a good quality one form ADSL Nation.com.. supposed to give better performance.. we shall see :Laughing: good luck

    http://www.adslnation.com/phpapps/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=24&products_id=54
     
  7. MisterED

    MisterED Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sunny Aberdeenshire !
    Broadband

    I agree but if you need a new filter get a good one.

    Came back off holliday this year to no broadband, :Sad: had the engineers out several times to check this out.

    Unfortunatelly BT do not own or look after the line.
    The Chain goes like this :Angry:
    Line is with Openreach they do everything to the switch and the Service Provider.
    The Service provider talks to Openreach only but he is the hidden link.
    BT Broadband buy the sevice form the provider and sell it to you.

    Unfortunately the Openreach Engineer only goes to the box on the wall inside your house, he will check up to this from the exchange and will give you the sppeds if you ask.

    If this is ok your problem is then with the filter the router and BT Broadband itself.

    Keep pressing them and write down all the calls and who you speak to as you have to tell the whole story every time.

    Not to put you off but it took me two weeks 30 calls all at minimum 45 mins each.:Eeek:

    Now have a uprated line new router filter and a complete change out of software and hardware at the Service Provider.:Smile:

    Now a happy camper .......... :Blush:
     
  8. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,246
    Likes Received:
    5,197
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    Thats a total load of codswallop, you rent the phone line from BT and it is supposed to provide (1) a phone line and (2) the capability of providing an internet connection.

    If you get grief use emails to get some action and sod phoning poxy India.

    faults@bt.com

    Give them your phone number and details.

    Peter
     
  9. wivvy's dad

    wivvy's dad Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1,807
    Location:
    48.066895,12.862673
    He's right kids
     
  10. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Correct to a point.. the point being your master box.. after that any kit including the micro filter is the home owners and or the broadband providers responsibility ..

    There are other land line providers ..

    Kingston – www.kcom.com

    NTL – www.ntl.com

    Telewest – www.telewest.co.uk
     
  11. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,246
    Likes Received:
    5,197
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    Sample of the many emails and my commenst! Only took three weeks to sort and its still not perfect some of the time.

    But emails in all fainess get a response within a couple of hours and they do phone you!

    The saga did not end here as in the end the found another fault on the overhead line from the pole in the grass verge to the master box on the house.

    It took FOUR separate engineers visits to sort it out. To prove my point the line is rented from BT and internet provider is AOL whose service was not at fault.
    -----------------------------------------

    .ExternalClass .ecxhmmessage P{padding:0px;}.ExternalClass body.ecxhmmessage{font-size:10pt;font-family:Tahoma;}Hi,

    Your engineer called today at long last and repaired the fault on the telephone line which was excactly where I have been telling you it was for the past THREE WEEKS.

    I still have no stable internet access, keeps dropping and this is now becoming a farce.

    I pay you to provide me with a telephone line that gives me a telephone, a fax, AND INTERNET, it is immaterail who my broadband supplier is as without a proper connection it will not work, it has been unstable ever since the phone went dead on the 10th of August and I have no intention of phoning India and sitting on the phone listening to some one I cannot understand speaking from a script.

    Would you please sort this out once and for all, you supposed to be the leaders in providing communication, so far you have failed dismally.

    P.J.Bartlett

    BARTLETT INDUSTRIAL HOLDINGS LTD
    From: faults@bt.com
    To: pjbx@hotmail.com
    Date: Sat, 28 Aug 2010 11:40:21 +0100
    Subject: A fault I have reported - Cancel or update details of a fault [Incident: 100813-011317]

    .ExternalClass td.ecxheader{;}.ExternalClass td.ecxtext{padding-left:4px;padding-right:4px;}.ExternalClass td.ecxlabel{;}.ExternalClass td.ecxdata{;}
    .ExternalClass .ecxemailtext{font-family:verdana;font-size:12px;}[​IMG] Recently you requested personal assistance from our on-line support centre. Below is a summary of your request and our response.

    If this issue is not resolved to your satisfaction, you may reopen it within the next 7 days.

    Thank you for allowing us to be of service to you.


    SubjectA fault I have reported - Cancel or update details of a fault Discussion Thread Response (S wilson)28/08/2010 11:40 AMDear Mr Bartlett

    Thank you for your e mail and I am sorry that you are having this delay with the phone service being restored


    Just to confirm our conversation this morning, I have spoken to a coach who is advising me that the Openreach engineers are working all this bank holiday weekend to get faults cleared.
    I have put some notes on your fault to advise to ring the other line in your property or to e mail xxxxx which is your wife's e mail address.

    I hope this is of some help and I am sorry for the delay.


    Yours sincerely

    Sally Wilson
    eContact Customer Services
    This email contains BT information, which may be privileged or confidential. It's meant only for the individual(s) or entity named above. If you're not the intended recipient, note that disclosing, copying, distributing or using this information is prohibited. If you've received this email in error, please let me know immediately on the email address above. Thank you. We monitor our email system, and may record your emails.
    British Telecommunications plc

    Registered office: 81 Newgate Street London EC1A 7AJ Registered in England no: 1800000 Customer (Peter Bartlett Bartlett Industrial Holdings Ltd)
     
  12. buttons

    buttons Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12,876
    Likes Received:
    10,680
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    [FONT=&quot]As daft as it sounds Jim I wasn’t aware that we had a customer replaceable filter on the Virgin cable system. I would be interested as I am in the process of tracing a similar fault with my own cable connection. I have Virgin TV Phone and Broadband through the cable that is separated within the cable wall socket. I upgraded it from 10 to 20 meg this week but still a bit up and down. I checked it tonight and only achieved 8meg overall.
    [/FONT]
     
  13. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Hi

    You don't on cable .. I have Virgin on DSL, BT land line..

    I used to have the cable service in Colchester, but now in the sticks of Suffolk, it comes across the fields on poles via wet string :RollEyes:

    The galling part is that it's the same cost as cable :Angry:

    regarding your fault .. it MAY be a bad connection on the junction box on the outside wall..
     
  14. buttons

    buttons Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12,876
    Likes Received:
    10,680
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Thanks Jim, I have checked connections etc but will give the new package time to settle, they are sending me a new modem and router next week will see how it performs then.
    Living in a large town:Cool: we tend to forget about the antiquated setups that you country folk still have to put up with. Wet string and all.:Sad:
     
  15. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    well, I still have the Virgin cable hardware.. set top box, router and modem.. guess it will be an antique by the time we get cable :RollEyes: if you lived closer you could have it .. but then again , if you did you wouldn't need it :Laughing:

    they were supposed to collect when we moved ..
     
  16. buttons

    buttons Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12,876
    Likes Received:
    10,680
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    [FONT=&quot]Things have really moved on now. This week we upgraded to 3xV+HD boxes with 20meg broadband and phone. Getting to this point has been a nightmare had to learn Indian, Philippine, Bulgarian and many other dialects but we got there in the end. The new boxes are great but cant work out how get a full screen when not receiving HD programs. :cry:
    [/FONT]
    [FONT=&quot]Now have to return the 3 old boxes:Doh:
    [/FONT]
     
  17. 1948

    1948 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    surrey
    changed filter internet worked fine till 6pm (always did anyway) and as if there was a switch somewhere web connection went off and returned this morning.
    Thanks John Cross for the e-mail address
    Will have to wait till engineer visit, but how is he/she going to find out the fault. Internet works perfect during the day!!
    will post update when this is sorted
     
  18. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    well, it was worth a shot.. hope you get it sorted soon.

    It sounds like BT are doing work in the exchange and switching your broadband off inadvertently .. will be interesting to hear the outcome.
     
  19. Brisey

    Brisey Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    6,434
    Likes Received:
    6,980
    Location:
    Tropical Bar,Benidorm.
    Hi Ricky

    It sounds like BT are doing work in the exchange and switching your broadband off inadvertently .. will be interesting to hear the outcome.

    I agree with Jim here, BT do a lot of their upgrading work during the night.

    Brisey
     
  20. barryd

    barryd Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,144
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    Yorkshire Dales
    Do you just have one computer? Are you sure the router is going off and that its not the PC?

    If it is the broadband going down at a certain time it could be something being switched on nearby if you have old cabling to the exchange. Ours got upgraded in the last 2 years but before that happened one of the farms would switch on an electric fence and ithe ADSL would go off. took ages to suss that one out.

    It does sound to be like an external fault though if its ok during the day.
     

Share This Page