Brain scrambelled

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Al-Di, Feb 23, 2016.

  1. Al-Di

    Al-Di Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    3,056
    Location:
    prestwich
    asked @Minxy Girl about using a 3 data sim in my Phablet, and wether this would work as a MIFI,

    got some good advice, so off to the 3 shop today armed with said Phablet,

    Me. can you help i would like to put a data sim in this Phablet,

    idiot, sorry you cant do that, only a phone sim,

    Me, ok but can i use this as a Mifi, if i put data card in,

    idiot, sir its not Mifi its Wifi it mean you can connect wirelessly

    Me, called him an Idiot and walk out,

    right you clever people can I do this,

    and please keep it simple's as I;m stupid with this stuff,:)


    think I'll get a laptop,(n)
     
    • Funny Funny x 4
    • Like Like x 1
  2. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,485
    Likes Received:
    4,741
    Location:
    Guisborough
    I have a 3 data sim in my iPad, other than that I don't have a clue.

    Martin
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,285
    Likes Received:
    12,127
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    Alan can you set your tablet thingie as a hot spot?

    we did same as Martin took Bevs iPad with 3 data only sim to France and used it as a hotspot, which I reckon is he same as a mifi, we also have an actual mifi, also with a 3 data only sim in, that took me till the day before we came home to get working

    don't feel I may have helped you much, go and buy an ipad (y)
     
  4. Al-Di

    Al-Di Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    3,056
    Location:
    prestwich
    maybe going about this wrong,

    I have an antique phone calls/text only

    I got the phablet to try and have some internet mobilty,
    I can use it no problem if i can access a wifi point,
    its for the times i can't access wifi,
    alll i seem to read about is using a Mifi and connecting to it(5+ items)
    my idea was to put the data sim in phablet and bypass using a mifi (extra cost) but would I still need to connect to it????????(phablet)

    bottom line is using what ive got,
     
  5. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,285
    Likes Received:
    12,127
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    what have you actually got Alan, what is the phablet?

    in theory if it will take a data sim it will work whenever you cant get access to wifi

    and possibly you can 'share' the data access with others if it has a hot spot option
     
  6. Speve

    Speve Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    1,650
    Location:
    Salisbury
    You definitely can get a data only sim the idiot obviously didn't know his stuff.
     
  7. movan

    movan Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12,885
    Likes Received:
    22,548
    Location:
    Moving around


    YOU say you are simple ...... flippin' eck ... you lost ME at the end of your first sentence ..... you are a BRAINBOX.
     
  8. Al-Di

    Al-Di Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    3,056
    Location:
    prestwich
  9. Hyacinth 1

    Hyacinth 1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    765
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    You say you have tablet would it not be cheaper just to buy a mifi device to connect to your tablet.

    I'm trying to understand what you need, my iPad hasn't got a sim included so I use a separate mifi that I can use when out in car or van.

    Have you looked on Motorhome wife site that might give you an idea what you need.

    Liz
     
  10. Al-Di

    Al-Di Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    3,056
    Location:
    prestwich
    @Hyacinth 1 yes i can buy a mifi, and a 3 feel at home sim but I'm tight:):)

    I know i will have to go down that road, just looking at options that i can understand,;)
     
  11. Hyacinth 1

    Hyacinth 1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    765
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    I thought you were from Yorkshire for a minute until I looked where you were from!

    Not sure about how to help you then, the only thing I have found is that I've had 3 and trying to top it up a second time from debit card is neigh on impossible that's just what I've found I now use EE or Vodafone but not sure about EE now BT has taken over.

    I do have an unlocked Huawii (or however it's pronounce) that I'm not using now if I can find it if you want, I'm at Chester & Peterborough if that helps.

    Liz
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. Minxy Girl

    Minxy Girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,580
    Likes Received:
    9,962
    Location:
    E Yorks
    This is the 'conversation' that I had with Al-di:

    AL-DI:

    "I think i saw a post from you about using a 3 data sim in a phablet,

    if so does this replace the use of a mifi?"

    ME:
    "No it's not a '3' data sim, just a normal phone sim (can't remember which network) so it has minutes, texts and a bit of data on it.

    The main reason we have a sim in it is that doing so actually improves the performance of the sat nav app as apparently with it connecting to the phone network as well as the built in gps the signal is better/response quicker ... don't ask me how but apparently it works!

    If, however, you had for example a normal '3' phone sim, with data on it you could use that in the phablet with the advantage of being able to use it to phone and text too ... something which is much easier on a big screen!

    We've just tried putting a data sim into our phablet and it allowed us to go on the internet without a problem so that works. One benefit of a data sim is that you get a LOT more data for your money than you do with a phone sim so if you ONLY want it for surfing the web etc and not making calls go for a data sim only.

    You can't, however, 'officially' use a phone sim in a normal tablet (ie one that is only meant to take a data sim and can't be used as a phone) as some network providers can detect this and cut it off ... I know some people try it but whether they ever have problems I don't know!

    So, in brief, the answer as to whether you still need a mifi or not is 'it depends':

    Phablets - can use either a phone sim with calls/text/data OR a data sim so no mifi needed

    Tablets - those that can take a sim are only able to use the data so only a data sim should be used and no mifi is needed.

    Tablets which do NOT take a sim - you need a mifi and you'll then need to connect to the mifi via wifi from the tablet!

    Hope that's not too confusing!"​

    So, we've found that you CAN use a data sim in a phablet, it just means that you can't make calls (although some do allow you to text!).
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. Hyacinth 1

    Hyacinth 1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    765
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    @Minxy Girl if you read his post above mine he's too tight to buy one!

    I have offered him an unlocked one that I'm not using will see what he wants to do.

    Liz
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
  14. bungy

    bungy Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    4,127
    Location:
    Welsh marches
    From the specs...
    Yes you can use a data sim or a normal mobile sim...in fact you can have 2 different ones in that one...dual sim 4g. And yes you can use it as a phone too..with a handsfree set up ear piece or bluetooth headset or just through the speakers on the device...wouldnt recommend holding it up to your head though:LOL:

    Whether you can then share that to other devices (known as tethering or hotspot) all depends on the android version and build, it says its android 5.1 so possible. If you go in to settings and look for tethering or mobile hotspot, if there is then yes you can...
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,578
    Likes Received:
    11,559
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    You've got a tablet, not a phablet, which are a bit smaller and are meant to be used as a phone as well - but you need very big hands!

    A Three data sim should work in it, the tablet that is.

    Splash out a tenner on, 3 data, sim and see how you get on. :)

    Personally, I'd buy a MiFi as it is more flexible but the sim in a tablet will be easier to use.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  16. Minxy Girl

    Minxy Girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,580
    Likes Received:
    9,962
    Location:
    E Yorks
    What makes you say it's a tablet? It can make and receive phone calls, therefore AFAIK it IS a phablet ... just a big one! :D
     
  17. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,578
    Likes Received:
    11,559
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    Good point, it's a Biglet! Needs two hands.

    But I'd still call it a tablet as that is what it's best for. :)
     
  18. Minxy Girl

    Minxy Girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,580
    Likes Received:
    9,962
    Location:
    E Yorks
    I suppose to differentiate if from the smaller phablets it could be called a 'tablone' or 'thone' ... but then you'd sound like you had a bad lisp!
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
  19. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,451
    Likes Received:
    25,133
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    You've had the best advice, buy a data SIM for whatever ( £10 ) and put it in. It looks like it will work.

    All Android devices have the ability to act as a hotspot. You activate this and you have effectively a MiFi so another tablet could go on line via your "phablet".

    "Phablet" is a weird word, it's phone+tablet, basically a great big phone.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. bungy

    bungy Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    4,127
    Location:
    Welsh marches
    Minor correction. Not sll androids can be a hotspot. All depends on the chips used for the mobile and wireless connectivity.
    A lot of the cheaper ones cant(or couldnt..lots a good features turning up on them now from china)..but as this one is a dual sim it might just have the right hardware:)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2

Share This Page