Boxer DAB Aerial Power

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Dubiousp, Jun 28, 2013.

  1. Dubiousp

    Dubiousp Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Morning all l,

    There's many threads on here in relation to how rubbish the cab radio signal is. Our Eldiss is no exception, al title while ago I put a new fairly exspensive aerial in the front qty panel but to be fair whilst it made the signal better its not perfect and I suspect because of the overhead bunk.

    I've looked at a couple of things

    1. Window aerial
    2. Using the status aerial although on mine I think I have to pull out metal bits to make it effective
    3. Or move the decent aerial I bought I roof mount it when I install my solar lane. If I do this can anyone confirm the best place to pick power from for driving and static use
     
  2. Electraglide

    Electraglide Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    361
    Location:
    Farnham Surrey
    I used the Status aerial connected to a JVC dab unit, works well.
     
  3. Dubiousp

    Dubiousp Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Do you have the standard staus aerial ie the disk or the one with pull out aerials,

    do you drive with it powered

    how is it powered through van or off ignition:thumb:
     
  4. Electraglide

    Electraglide Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    361
    Location:
    Farnham Surrey
    It is the one with aerials, although I have never used them . Both the aerial and the head unit are powered from the leisure batteries, we listen to something all day long. The Status aerial is powered, the only problem I had was obtaining an adaptor from the coaxial lead to the JVC input, good old Google sorted that out.
     
  5. gozomike

    gozomike Funster Life Member Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    662
    Location:
    Warwickshire - sometimes - but not often
    * Hi

    Just a couple of thoughts on this one.

    If the overcab area has any metal at all then yes it will affect the signal to the radio and mounting the aerial above it should help greatly.

    But:-

    Any shading onto the solar panel will cut its output. I have done some tests with my portable solar panel which will give 2.5 amps in the clear but this can be halved by holding not much more than a finger in the way.

    Mike
     
  6. freelanderuk

    freelanderuk Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    541
    Location:
    Saltfleet/Lincolnshire
    I have just this morning connected my cab radio to my flying saucer status Ariel by means of 2x 4 meter Ariel extension leads, I cut the socket of one and fitted a normal TV plug , the radio could only pick up 2 stations with the windscreen mounted cheepo Ariel in my storage parking place
    The radio plugged in to the status pulled in 7 stations all strong signals, I then turned the amp for the status on and pulled an extra station.
    I have yet to drive the van but its looking good that I won't have to drill the wing to fit an Ariel
     
Loading...

Share This Page