Bought the USB external Drive - BUT

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Teasy2007, Feb 26, 2009.

  1. Teasy2007

    Teasy2007 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    724
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire
    Hi I have just been to Netto and bought the USB 250 GB drive from Netto, plugged it in and everything is fine.

    However, I have just been through the windows Backup wizard and tried to backup 'all information on this computer' (includes all data and creates a system recovery disc for this computer) when I go to the next screen it asks me to 'chose a place to save the data', but will not allow me to chose my new F USB drive.

    I checked and it is formatted correctly, so am I wrong in assuming I could use this as a full system recovery disc, and that I should be content with just copying all my files and folders etc.

    Help very much appreciated.

    Ginny
     
  2. American Dream

    American Dream Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,489
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Hi Ginny,

    Just tried it and it Works for me on a usb hdd..

    Just asks for a floppy too.I cancelled that message and then I Just clicked on the Browse button and then it's under My Computer.
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2009
  3. Teasy2007

    Teasy2007 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    724
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire
    Many thanks, it is creating the backup as we speak! Does this mean that if my laptop fails I can just plug this in and it will restore everything?

    Ginny
     
  4. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,873
    Likes Received:
    76,311
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea

    It does if you use something like Acronis as this takes an "image" of your hard drive and all your settings and restore it in just a few minutes. :thumb:
     
  5. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,719
    Likes Received:
    2,121
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Hi you may need to go into setup to enable "boot via USB" on some computors you press the "del" key during boot up to get into the setup menu.

    Olley
     
  6. American Dream

    American Dream Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,489
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Lincoln
    It does mean you've got an external copy of all your data.You'd need to restore via Microsoft Backup and point it to the .bkf file on the usb drive.

    I agree with Jim that Acronis would be a good investment.I've used it and been very impressed.It's on My Dad's machine some 180 miles away and I can restore if necessary remotely.:thumb:
     
Loading...

Share This Page