Booster fortv aerial? Maybe

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by kennygd, Aug 1, 2010.

  1. kennygd

    kennygd Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Anywhere in the UK
    :BigGrin: Morning all, it does not matter where I go in my Arapaho once I have retuned the tv most of the time I still get break up of picture, the aerial system is a Staus 550 which probably a lot of Autotrail users have and I have a 32 inch Freeview tv, anybody have any ideas to boost the signal or whatever, how can I possibly live without Emmerdale, Coronation street and Eastenders, suicide might be an option but would prefer to know if there is anything can be done for the picture. :cry:
    kennygd
     
  2. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    34,453
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Can't see the Status 550 on the Grade UK web site but they do have details of the 530 and 540, both of which apparently come with the Status Power Pack.

    We have a Status 315 (flying saucer) aerial, together with Power Pack, which was already fitted to the van when we got it. At the Cheshire Showground 2 weeks ago we found that we got a better digital signal with the Power Pack turned off than when it was turned on.

    We've had similar experiences with analogue signals elsewhere as well. It seems that sometimes a booster can boost too much.

    Graham
     
  3. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,247
    Likes Received:
    5,198
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    Daft question maybe, is the boost amp switched on, try a normal set top aerial and see if there is any difference

    Peter
     
  4. barryd

    barryd Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,144
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    Yorkshire Dales
    I struggled with a Status ariel for the first few months we had our van. I too didnt realise there was an amplifier but it still didnt make that much difference. In the end I splashed out on a Camos Dome (about £1300 I think) which has been superb, works all over Europe and takes seconds to switch on. I know its a lot of money but we use the van a lot and in winter so its been worth it for us.

    How do you find the Arapaho by the way? I was fancying one of them when I eventually get around to trading in the Kontiki but you just dont see that many about.
     
  5. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,247
    Likes Received:
    5,198
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288

    Hi Barry,

    You should have looked on my website, had a fanatstic one in stock, automatic as well, now sold:thumb:

    I do get hold of some very nice vans:Smile:

    Peter
     
Loading...

Share This Page