blown heating

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by gromit, Dec 23, 2012.

  1. gromit

    gromit Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    lincolnshire
    hello everyone i have a truma blown heater problem just bought 54 plate luner champ a601 hot water and blown heating works fine on gas but wont run on 230v ?any one have any ideas please
     
  2. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    hi welcome to the Fun..

    does anything else work on 240V,,, i.e. plugged into a 3 pin socket?
     
  3. jonandshell

    jonandshell Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    7,858
    Location:
    West Norfolk
    Welcome!:welcomefunster:
     
  4. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,414
    Likes Received:
    25,064
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Is it supposed to run on 240V ? Ours does not have that option. I think the 240V is an element round the water heater part of the boiler, not sure if it heats the air.
     
  5. gromit

    gromit Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    lincolnshire
    hi yes all electrics seem to be working fine
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,227
    Likes Received:
    34,394
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    There are various Truma boilers some of which, as Brian mentioned, are gas only. Truma have a comprehensive set of manuals/handbooks for download from Here. You should be able to find help for your particular appliance there.
     
  7. gromit

    gromit Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    lincolnshire
    hi i no this may seem daft but i dont no ?how do you tell i have just upgraded van form a 98 compass drifter which ran on 240
     
  8. WynandJean

    WynandJean Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,365
    Likes Received:
    1,325
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ours is the same. Only heats the air on gas. I enquired about a collar to heat it on elec.but it seemed more practical to buy a small heater.
    Wyn
     
  9. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    what type of unit is it? is it a combi or a wall mounted type unit as they function differently.

    the combi normally has 2 circular dials one that determines the power source the other determines wether you have heat or heat and water. you cannot have heat without hot water on gas only on electric. you can have heat alone on electric.
    on the wall mounted th heat and hot water sources are separate units.

    if its a combi dose the red light come on, on the knob when electric fails
     
  10. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    some wall mounted Truma heater units only work on gas and dont have an electric element but can be retro fitted.
     
  11. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    which of these have you got?
     

    Attached Files:

  12. gromit

    gromit Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    lincolnshire
    this is starting to sound better the heater is in a cuboard underneth the fixed double bed and it has 1 control on the wall looks like a thermoststat you can set the dial inside for temp and the outer for hot water only or hotwater and heating does this sound like yours ?
     
  13. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
    On the three lunars that we had there were isolation switches in the wardrobe for the heating and water. They were marked ultra heat and ultra store.
     
  14. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    so you got one like this?
     

    Attached Files:

    • 333.jpg
      333.jpg
      File size:
      3.4 KB
      Views:
      8
  15. gromit

    gromit Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    lincolnshire
    there is no gas fire just a black unit under the cuboard withg 1 control on the wall ??
     
  16. gromit

    gromit Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    lincolnshire
    you switch it on green light comes on then about 10 to 20 secs red light come on
     
  17. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    as Lunarman has said, check all switches on the panel in the wardrobe it may well be that this only works on gas. normaly the gas and electric controls are easily identifiable except on the most modern of units where they have a digital controller.

    good luck.
     
  18. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    that happens to us if the power source is missing...... look at your trip fuses and mains consumer unit:thumb:
     
  19. gromit

    gromit Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    lincolnshire
    the dial has temp control in middle then on out side of that dial is dial to set to either hot water or hotwater and heating and then has a setting for 40 degrees or 60 degrees there are no switchs in wardrobe
     
  20. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    you will have a consumer unit somewhere it is common for the supply to this unit to be on a separate circuit breaker
     
Loading...

Share This Page