Blown air heating via hot water heater + heat exchanger (1 Viewer)

Chris2050

Free Member
Oct 5, 2015
Cambridge, UK
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Has anyone tried using one of these heat exchanger units which generates blown hot air from hot water + a small amount of 12V?

Broken Link Removed

In theory, would it allow you to heat the whole cabin simply with a diesel hot water heater (webasto thermo top c?) or gas hot water heater, no need to have both separate air & water or a combi unit?

I guess thermostat control would need to be considered but could be simple.

ciderman

Free Member
Jul 2, 2011
derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer 754
Exp
4 years old
by the looks of the unit it connects into the cooling circuit of the engine so you would need to run a circulation pump to make it work

jonandshell

Free Member
Dec 12, 2010
Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Not got one!
Exp
Since 2006
Already used for en route heating in many motorhomes!
If you are set on one diesel powered unit for both heating and water, what about a Webasto Dualtop?
It mounts under the van and saves you space too.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Reactions: DBK

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp
As above, we have a Webasto dualtop and it works fine. The unit in the link is designed only for use when driving. I am not sure if you could connect it to a water heater. You would need a recirculating pump and this seems an unnecessary complication and power drain.

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012
Seems a bit overkill if you already have a heating system for driving and when parked up.

We already have the engine heat exchanger which runs the Alde hot water and heating system when you are driving.

It is an option on vehicles fitted with the Alde we system.

Martin

OP
OP
C

Chris2050

Free Member
Oct 5, 2015
Cambridge, UK
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie