Free Member
Jul 29, 2013
Gloucestershire
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
I'm a Newbie
I have a portable air compressor, just a small thing for blowing up tyres, air beds etc. which operates from the cab 12v cigar lighter socket.

I bought a 5m 12v extension cable so that the compressor would reach the rear tyres on the M/H.

The compressor seems to work ok when it is plugged into the cab socket but when connected using the extension lead the cigar lighter 10 amp fuse blows.

I had also intended to use the extension lead to connect a 12v pump to fill the water tank from an Aquaroll but not sure if this is a good idea.

Any suggestions as to why the extension lead should cause this to happen?

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
the extension lead is far too long.

as the length increases the volts drop and the amps rise so you are overloading the 10amp fuse.

i had the same problem with my mini compressor to the point the compressor could barely turn under load.....but it was extended by 8mtrs and trying to pump 80psi.

i then went the other route and extended the air hose but had the problem of air compressing in the hose on each piston stroke but as there wasnt enough volume on each piston stroke to push air into the tyre so it merely expanded in the hose on the downward (uncompressed) piston stroke.

i finally solved the problem using a large motorcycle battery to power the compressor in its normal configuration....3mtr cable and 1mtr hose.

Last edited:

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
Faulty extension lead.

Some subtle fault with the connectors ?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
Monty1083

Monty1083

Free Member
Jul 29, 2013
Gloucestershire
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
I'm a Newbie

as the length increases the volts drop and the amps rise so you are overloading the 10amp fuse.