Best web Browser

Discussion in 'Computers' started by haganap, Mar 12, 2011.

  1. haganap

    haganap Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11,070
    Likes Received:
    13,681
    Location:
    Heavan
    I have been using Chrome on all 5 of our home computers the yonks. Now all of a sudden Shockwave flash player keeps crashing on all of them? anyone else having this problem? looking on the net it seems there is a few that have previously and the only cure seems to be to switch explorer, but I like Chrome. Anyone got a solution?:cry::cry:
     
  2. ShiftZZ

    ShiftZZ Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    19,821
    Likes Received:
    35,897
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Cant help on Chrome..

    Have you tried Safari?
     
  3. haganap

    haganap Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11,070
    Likes Received:
    13,681
    Location:
    Heavan
    tried it a while ago and was ok, what about Opera?
     
  4. haganap

    haganap Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11,070
    Likes Received:
    13,681
    Location:
    Heavan
    im giving opera a go Mr Shiftzz, seems quite good...
     
  5. champers

    champers Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,444
    Likes Received:
    2,041
    Location:
    Wales
    Paul have had exactly the same on my puter n latops....had a puter friend have a look , did update the shock wave driver but it is still crashing but not as often....my friend was going to have another go at it later on in the day as thought it was only my stuff going weird
    I also enabled the animation n video setting in internet security which did help things load quicker on the gaming side
     
  6. 400ixl

    400ixl Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Norfolk
    What OS is this on?

    Certainly don't use Safari on Windows, its dog awful.
     
  7. ShiftZZ

    ShiftZZ Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    19,821
    Likes Received:
    35,897
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Im getting fed up with IE8 its so BLOATED..
     
  8. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    I still use IE7, 8 caused problems with fun. But as everyone runs different software the browser thats best for you is the one that actually works for you and that may well be different for everyone. I hope you solve your problem soon.
     
  9. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,475
    Likes Received:
    25,170
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Chrome is fast but I keep ging back to Firefox because is control structure is so much better. More complex but better.
     
  10. G4GMO

    G4GMO Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Flash

    Sounds like the problem I had earlier this week with Firefox, seems to have cleared now. Have run updates on Linux which may have cleared it.

    Also using Opera which I find quite good.
     
  11. haganap

    haganap Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11,070
    Likes Received:
    13,681
    Location:
    Heavan
    im on Vista. 64 but the kids laptops are on 7 and still the problem exists, Nikki's notebook is on xp and still the problem :Sad:

    Opera seems ok so far, quite impressive, it gives you the basics and you choose what you want to add on as you go along.:thumb:
     
  12. champers

    champers Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,444
    Likes Received:
    2,041
    Location:
    Wales
    Hi this is Kaths friend who asked me to type this because she thought this might help others.

    As of Chrome 10, Google ship an internal version of Flash that is used in place of the "normal" version [1]. You can see which version Chrome (and most other browsers) is using by typing "about:plugins" in to the address bar. Look for the text "Flash" and check the version information near by. If it's 10.2.152 you are using the latest system wide version [2], if it's 10.2.154 it's Chrome's internal version. To disable the internal Flash plugin, right click on the Chrome shortcut and select Properties. Modify the target entry by adding " --disable-internal-flash" on to the end. On XP the target field should read something like:

    "C:\Documents and Settings\{Your Username}\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe" --disable-internal-flash

    Close Chrome and relaunch. Check in about:plugins that the version shown is now 10.2.152 - if so you are now using the normal system wide installed version and hopefully things will be a bit more stable.

    ____________________

    [1]If your version is less than 10.2 , please consider updating your flash plugin by visiting www.adobe.com and downloading the latest version. Outdated Flash plugins are a security risk and a common route spyware/viruses exploit to get on to your system.

    [2] You might ask why Google is shipping a different version of Flash - believe it or not it's to improve security. The version Google ships is "sandboxed" from the rest of the system. In theory, even if it is compromised the attacker should not be able to take over your entire system, whereas this remains a risk with the system wide version.
     
  13. 400ixl

    400ixl Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Have you got an example site where you are having issues?

    Not seen any with Chrome myself, but don't use many shockwave sites.
     
  14. champers

    champers Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,444
    Likes Received:
    2,041
    Location:
    Wales
    Mostly facebook games, but it has happened even on this forum, amongst a few others

    Had to go out awhile so not been able to see if the adjustment has worked
    But it is a great pain in the butt


    Mu firefox is very slow at th best of times hence using google chrome

    it is also on my notebook, which was Linux but now is ubuntu
     
  15. jhorsf

    jhorsf Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,157
    Likes Received:
    8,067
    Location:
    DERBYSHIRE
    Poor Nicki has to have the oldest computer:Rofl1:
     
  16. haganap

    haganap Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11,070
    Likes Received:
    13,681
    Location:
    Heavan
    mainly all sites especially Youtube, and Igoogle.

    Actually JH, she has the second newest I have the oldest, Nikki's is a notebook which apparantly all came with xp,,, and ITS PINK :Laughing: so not for me.:Cool:
     
  17. champers

    champers Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,444
    Likes Received:
    2,041
    Location:
    Wales
    Alas I still have problems, even tried Explorer(and thats pushing on my puter)... pages freeze up , says >>>not responding, something about the script , do i want to kill pages then uh oh... crash ....


    this is sooo annoying about every 10 mins , it is happing on my puter, notebook and Laptop

    where can i find a dingle to throw the lot away :Rofl1::Rofl1: it is making my hair turn white ok whiter:Doh::Doh::Doh:
     
  18. tofo

    tofo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,599
    Likes Received:
    6,228
    Location:
    Kirby cross further from londin
    i think safari works best on apple products
    on my 2 lappys a dell and tosh netbook safari(both win 7) takes forever to load
    but on my i mac its instant and a decent browser
    on the lappys if i use aol at home they crawl
    if i use opera or firefox they are both quicker

    understand that i longer pay aol/talk talk for aol access
    but use plusnet a bt company at a more favourable rate
    than the parent company

    personally i think the isp causes some problems by throttling the lines
    when i moved to plusnet my speeds went up
    i am only just in the broadband net so to speak
    when on aol the software kept trying to get me to go to dial up
    dosnt happen now but still got aol software on the lappys
    never loaded it onto the i mac:thumb:
     
  19. 400ixl

    400ixl Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Your previous supplier must have been bad.

    I moved away from Plusnet not long after BT bought them because of the traffic shaping that Plusnet introduced which was very restrictive.
     
  20. tofo

    tofo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,599
    Likes Received:
    6,228
    Location:
    Kirby cross further from londin
    on aol before it was franchised to carphone warehouse
    browsing was bearable when it taken over it was
    lets just say slow always waiting for the little blue line
    in the l/h bottom corner
    whichever browser i used
    swopped to plusnet not fast but faster than previous
    but i accept that as we are 5k from the exchange
    when i line checked and we havent been upgraded
    to fibre yet
    and unlickly to be done in my liftime
    scrotes are happy pinching the wires from underground
    a out every 9 months though
     
Loading...

Share This Page