Be careful using your mobile phone/ipad etc when on the ferry !

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Chockswahay, Feb 12, 2016.

  1. Chockswahay

    Chockswahay Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    4,795
    Just a word of caution if you use a mobile phone or tablet on the ferry.

    We have just come back from France on the DFDS ferry from Dunkirk to Dover. My wife logged into the the free wifi onboard, however it was a bit 'iffy' and she discovered the mobile data was still working about mid channel........

    We discovered 30 minutes later that we were logged on to the ships marine mobile phone network which of course is not part of '3 feel at home' when we received a massage from '3' saying that we had just spent £5 on data!!

    This was a shock, luckily we only use PAYG and were only just under £4 in credit so the bill was limited to that. If we were on contract it may well have ran to the £40? limit for contract phones.

    We did not really think that this would happen as we had just been using '3' for the last few days in France.

    Be aware ........ :cautious:
     
    • Informative Informative x 4
    • Useful Useful x 2
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  2. Autowbars

    Autowbars Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    291
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Always turn off mobile data in settings.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    7,750
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Also happens if you stray into Belgium
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. DanielFord

    DanielFord Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2,207
    Likes Received:
    2,494
    Location:
    Surrey
    Lucky you!!! :D

    Do DFDS not offer on board WiFi? We used that on Brittany Ferries last time we sailed, not the fastest being that it is a satellite link, but it was included with our cabin.
     
  5. Chockswahay

    Chockswahay Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    4,795
    If going outside of the '3 feel at home' countries I would do that, but simply on the ferry between France and England I did not expect to be so easily caught out!

    The whole idea of having mobile data on in the first place is for convenience and is expressly why I chose '3'.
     
  6. Chockswahay

    Chockswahay Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    4,795
    Yes , that was my point :)
     
  7. DanielFord

    DanielFord Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2,207
    Likes Received:
    2,494
    Location:
    Surrey
    D'Oh! Reading skills up to my normal standard!
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  8. DanielFord

    DanielFord Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2,207
    Likes Received:
    2,494
    Location:
    Surrey
    On iPhone/iPad, switch off data roaming, it's under mobile data in settings. That way, mobile data is only used on your 'home' network.
     
  9. Tom A

    Tom A Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    323
    Location:
    Thornton Cleveleys
    Same thing happened to me with 3.
    Ran a bill up of £29. I explained it to 3 customer service and got a full refund even though it was my own fault.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Autowbars

    Autowbars Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    291
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Another thing to keep an eye on is when updating an iPhone or iPad that the update can change settings for Bluetooth, Mobile data etc without you realising. They seem to turn ON!
    Then it wants to update iCloud etc as a matter of rule.
    That would cost a bit if on mobile data, or a paid for wifi service.

    My missus fell foul of it just a week ago coming back from Eire.
     
Loading...

Share This Page