Battery wiring

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by peterc10, Feb 13, 2014.

  1. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,208
    Likes Received:
    2,287
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    I am going to replace my single old leisure battery with 2 new ones wired in parallel. What size wire should I use to run between the two batteries terminals? Is it just case of adding a wire to the existing clamp on each terminal and then running that to the clamp on the equivalent terminal of the other battery? By the way they will be sitting next to one another so a very short run involved.

    Thanks for any help you can give.
     
  2. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,246
    Likes Received:
    5,197
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    Afternoon,

    Thats correct. We would use 42amp cable and put a 20amp fuse between the two positive terminals.

    Regards

    Ian, workshops
    www.johnscross.co.uk
    01580 881288
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Gizmouk

    Gizmouk Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    1,711
    Location:
    Essex
    I used 16mm2 cable, terminated with ring crimps to parallel the batteries.

    Use decent cable and crimps :thumb:
     
  4. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,706
    Likes Received:
    3,211
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    Wiring as you suggest is correct. What cable you use is dependent on what you're running from your battery bank. For normal 12v use what Peter suggested would be fine.
    If you're running an inverter then it's a different matter.

    I run a 1500w(3kW peak) inverter which can draw 150A (peak of 300A) so needs wire capable of carrying that current. I use a 150A fuse between the batteries (working on the assumption that they will each provide half the required current) and a 300A fuse in the line to the inverter.
     
  5. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,208
    Likes Received:
    2,287
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Should have made clear that I do not have an inverter. Just normal 12v lights TV, pumps etc.
     
Loading...

Share This Page