Battery Upgrades Etc - Could be important!.. (1 Viewer)

Fletton

Free Member
Oct 19, 2014
Lincolnshire, UK
Funster No
MH
Knaus Sky I Plus 650LG
Exp
First MoHo - April 2015
Hi Peeps....

I have read lots and lots of threads/posts on MHF about batteries etc. And whilst I am no expert; thought I would post this.... As I don't recall any mention of it when folk ask advice on battery types/upgrades etc.

When I purchased the Moho... It came with a single 70Ah GEL Hab battery...

Like many others - I had Solar and an alarm fitted from new and a week later swapped the single GEL for two 110Ah WETs... I did this on the advice of others and because at the time WETs seemed the best option in terms of power per £ and came highly recommended.

A month or so later ( whilst finally reading the plethora of paperwork that came with the Moho ) I discovered that there is a "jumper" switch on the EBL unit - to set the charge pattern to either GEL or WET: Accordingly (as a newbie) I asked on here if it made a difference.... And subsequently powered everything down and flipped the charge jumper from GEL to WET.

The thing that didn't cross my mind (naivety at that time) was to check what battery was being used for the CAB.... As this also charges via the EBL... As I understand.

Anyway as luck would have it - the CAB battery is also WET....

But more to the point - The Moho came new with TWO different types of battery and until I changed the "jumper".... The CAB battery was being charged on the GEL setting...

Maybe it's worth checking to see if yours all match... As it could be one of the reasons folk have battery/EBL issues...

I may be talking utter nonsense .... But my logic says both CAB and HAB should be same type... IF they are being charged via EBL.

John T

Jul 13, 2008
Funster No
MH
Low profile
Exp
Since 2007
I'm thinking you're making sense. ;)
When does the engine battery charge via the EBL? Is it only when on EHU?

Aug 6, 2013
Kendal, Cumbria
Funster No
MH