Battery questions

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Ovalball, Jan 3, 2016.

1. Ovalball

Ovalball Funster

I have 2 x 115 AH banner batteries,about 3 years old.I also have 2 x 100 watt solar panels fitted.In summer everything works fine,obviously thanks mainly to the panels.However in winter I always struggle.On Friday we went with both batteries fully charged.After a couple of hours with very little turned on(All lighting LED)I was down to 12.3 Volta according to the IManager display.Are the batteries at fault do you think.After 3 years are they ready to be replaced?If so can anyone recommend a better alternative type,make size etc.I seem to spend most of my time monitoring the voltage!The boss wants to know why she can't watch TV without me moaning!Any help or advice appreciated.

2. Yorick

Yorick Funster

I'm no expert, but unlink the batteries and test them individually.
    That'll tell if one is duff :)

3. DanielFord

DanielFord Funster

Well 3 years is about how long my last leisure battery lasted before it wouldn't hold charge.
    However, 12.3 volts sounds about normal after being used without a charge. Anything over 12v suggests that they are receiving a charge.
    How long does it take until the voltage drops below 12?

4. Ovalball

Ovalball Funster

To be honest they rarely drop below 12 Volts.This morning one was at11.9 but went back up once the load was switched off.They seem to peak at 12.4 when they have been off charge for a couple of hours.I thought they would be at 12.7 for quite a while but drop to 12.3 after about 2 hours with little load.

5. Lenny HB

Lenny HB Funster

Most likely the batteries have had it, Banner's are rubbish mine failed after 18 months.

• Like Like x 1
  6. Ovalball

Ovalball Funster

I only bought the Banner batteries because someone on here recommended them!!Can you suggest a more reliable make please??

7. Lenny HB

Lenny HB Funster