Battery Control Panel Ah Amp Hours Always Red

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Milliemobile, Jun 5, 2015.

  1. Milliemobile

    Milliemobile Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    1,017
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Hi all,
    Tested new van over last few days.
    It has a fancy colourful control panel which shows how our batteries are doing.
    Our old van was a basic control panel and we kept an eye on batteries as long as the read out was showing good voltage we were happy.
    On this new control panel with pictures we now also see amp hours. This shows red 0%. Should we be worried about this?
    Have been away for 4 days on hook up it rose to amber after driving, now home back at red.
    Pics below.

    Thanks Lin and Nige
    WP_20150605_001.jpg
    WP_20150605_003.jpg
     
  2. PhilandMena

    PhilandMena Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    3,636
    Location:
    Corby, Northants
    Have a read of your manual.
     
  3. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,463
    Likes Received:
    16,906
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Where do I start?

    Your indicated 13.6volts is is the charge voltage coming from the solar panel, not your battery..which would appear to be completely shot.
     
  4. SMB

    SMB Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    588
    Location:
    north shields
    Snazzy display! No idea re problem though, maybe its not calibrated? Must be other Autotrail owners on here who can help. Enjoy the van..
     
  5. Milliemobile

    Milliemobile Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    1,017
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Could it be they are not connected, or not done properly.
    It's a new van and we asked for a second leisure battery to be fitted before they delivered last Fri.
    There is nothing in the manual to check.

    Lin
     
  6. Milliemobile

    Milliemobile Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    1,017
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    No idea how it would calibrate, assumed snazzy puter did it :(
    Think will have to ring dealer tomorrow.
    We should have tested off hook up, but just forget to unplug for one day. Then would have known a problem.
    I blame Nige I was concerned about any thing showing 0% he said it was fine!

    Lin :(
     
  7. Milliemobile

    Milliemobile Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    1,017
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Nige has now decided they didn't calibrate it after fitting 2nd battery. So he has reset it to 100%!
    Lets hope that's all it was, though I'm not convinced it's as simple as setting your own % assuming it was 100% charged.

    Lin :)
     
  8. SMB

    SMB Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    588
    Location:
    north shields
    That bloke is handy ha ha. I seem to remember a post a few weeks ago about someone fitting a 2nd leisure battery and having the same problem re calibration!
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page