Big Nick

Free Member
Aug 17, 2015
Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
Low Profile Coachbuilt
Exp
i 'think' I've roughly worked out the effect on my axle weights from adding a scooter and rack to the rear of my 6.5m motorhome (I have enough payload) using the online calculators

The new axle weights are now showing as

Front 1585kg (previous 1624kg) (max 1850kg)
Rear 1566kg (previous 1368kg) (Max 2000kg)

Both are well within limits and the load front to back on the chassis seems evenly spread but what effect will it have on the handling?

I am a total novice on such things son any advice greatly appreciated

Flamenca

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 21, 2013
Europe
Funster No
MH
Hymer 564
Exp
Since 2010
I would take it to a weighbridge to check actual axle weights.

OP
OP
Big Nick

Big Nick

Free Member
Aug 17, 2015
Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
Low Profile Coachbuilt
Exp
Yeah but I'd like a rough idea before I buy the scooter and rack!!

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012
Well it looks like you are hanging 160 kg on the back of the van, possibly 130 for the scooter plus the tow bar, this is more than the nose weight for a standard caravan/nose weight set up so just make sure that is OK for the tow are/back of van other than that I would expect the steering to be a bit lighter but as long as everything is within limits it should be OK.

Martin

OP
OP
Big Nick

Big Nick

Free Member
Aug 17, 2015
Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
Low Profile Coachbuilt
Exp
Well it looks like you are hanging 160 kg on the back of the van, possibly 130 for the scooter plus the tow bar, this is more than the nose weight for a standard caravan/nose weight set up so just make sure that is OK for the tow are/back of van other than that I would expect the steering to be a bit lighter but as long as everything is within limits it should be OK.

Martin

Hi Martin