Avtex Won't Play Dvd... Wrong Region Code!...

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Fletton, May 3, 2015.

  1. Fletton

    Fletton Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    2,468
    Location:
    Nth East Lincs
    Hi folks..

    Sat in MH with two of my lads... trying to watch a dvd on the Avtex TV...

    It says... "Wrong Region"... ?

    It's Avtec L187DRS.. purchased from Southdowns when I bought the MH A few weeks back..

    The DVDs are from home and are showing region 2 on the dvd boxes...

    Digital TV works fine... but this is the first time trying a DVD....

    Any ideas?..

    Cheers

    John T
     
  2. martin1485

    martin1485 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    660
    Location:
    Conwy, North Wales
    Copied this from another forum on the internet. Not tested myself but may be worth a try?

    "For all those with an avtex tv and are having trouble trying to play dvds other than region 2 (uk),here is a hack that will change it to region free (0).

    1 Put tv into DVD mode without a disc in it.
    2 Press DVD setup button but ignore the setup page.
    3 Enter this code... 9210 and then press 0.This turns the machine to region free mode for good and worked just fine.Hope this helps."
     
    • Like Like x 2
  3. Fletton

    Fletton Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    2,468
    Location:
    Nth East Lincs
    We tried that and nothing worked... so I assumed it was for earlier models...

    Also there is nothing the manual referring to region codes :(

    Anyone got any other ideas?

    John T
     
  4. Landy lover

    Landy lover Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,024
    Likes Received:
    3,546
    Location:
    Zummerzet
    Worth a call to Avtex - their technical department is very helpful
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. DJA

    DJA Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Kent
    Just in case try Code number 2580 instead of 9210. Some Avtex Tv's use that number although I thought that was the ones without a DVD facility.

    Also just to clarify do the following This is what we do on our Tv to enable DivX and regions is on the same page..

    Press Source and select DVD.

    When the Screens shows it is trying to eject a DVD Press the DVD(info) button on Remote. This should change the screen and say language at the top.

    Now type the code and if it works a page will appear including a line showing which region is set. You can press 0 to make non regional or 1 to change to region 1. Just remeber to change back to region 2 when you hav finished playing the dvd.

    Doug
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Fletton

    Fletton Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    2,468
    Location:
    Nth East Lincs
    A call to Avtex.... Me thinks....

    Thanks to all :)
     
  7. Fletton

    Fletton Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    2,468
    Location:
    Nth East Lincs

    Update.....

    Been on the Phone to Avtex - Just now.....

    The code IS 9210... But apparently it's a timing issue.. i.e the time you press the keys after you load the DVD setup menu...

    Anyway..... Just been in van van and it worked first time.... So now set to Region 0... Yaaaay!!!

    Must have dithered previously - or had one too many V&T's when I tried on site!..

    Pleased to say all sorted :)

    Once again thanks to the FUNSTERORICLE for all of your prompt responses :)
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2015
    • Like Like x 2
Loading...

Share This Page