AVG free not updating

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Bulletguy, May 10, 2009.

  1. Bulletguy

    Bulletguy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Cheshire/Staffs
    Have been running with AVG 8.5 free version for a few months now all perfectly ok......until today.

    It's stating the av and spyware databases are outdated but when i attempt to run updates i get "Your computer system time seems to be inaccurate. This may lead to false virus database up-to-dateness reporting. Please correct your system time if possible."

    Exactly what are they referring to as "system time"......the clock or what??

    I tried an uninstall and re-install but it just got back to the same again.

    Working 100% ok last night, but now isn't. Any ideas folks?
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,475
    Likes Received:
    16,955
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    hi,

    toaccess the system time....

    shut down your comruter,

    restart as normal,

    before it boots open the bios settings page....usually F2 or DEL button

    when the bios opens look for SYSTEM TIME and SYSTEM DATE using the ARROW KEYS and ENTER to select....mouse wont work.

    if incorrect then adjust the time and date, the date is in month/day/year mode and then SAVE AND EXIT.

    should do the trick.

    for some unknown reason mine altered of its own accord a while ago.
     
  3. Bulletguy

    Bulletguy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Cheshire/Staffs
    Thanks John......you were right. :thumb:

    For some weird reason the date in my bios was at Wednesday 10th June!! How or what did that God only knows. Obviously there is a 'higher power' at work other than Microsoft!
     
  4. sinbad1

    sinbad1 Deleted User

    Keep an eye on date/time Could be your CMOS battery may need to be replaced.

    Regards
     
  5. Bulletguy

    Bulletguy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Cheshire/Staffs
    Looks as though that could be a possibility.
    Had a look in my user manual and the battery is an easy replacement.........but despite much 'googling', cannot find anyone who sells the damn thing!

    The part number is XBT9E1
     
  6. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,250
    Likes Received:
    34,491
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Is XBT9E1 the part number for the battery or for the socket? Diagrams I've found on-line using Google aren't all that clear as to which is meant.

    CMOS batteries are usually the round "coin" type, such as CR2032 CR2016 etc, these days.

    If you open up your system unit you may find that such a number is on the current battery, despite what the manual says.

    If not, take the current battery to a local supplier - market stalls often have a good range as well as computer shops - and they will probably be able to supply an equivalent.

    Graham
     
  7. Bulletguy

    Bulletguy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Cheshire/Staffs
    Oooo.....err. I think i've dropped a boo boo! :Doh:

    Here is an online diagram of exactly what i have printed in my Dell PC user manual and what i have been looking at. It seems, as you rightly say Graham....that is the socket, not the battery! Turning a few more pages and i now find CR2032 is the battery! :RollEyes:
    Obviously having another of my 'senior moments'. :Sad:

    Online User Manual and Guide for Dell Dimension 4600 PC Desktop by FixYa, Page #77

    I only recently 'lost' the day/date and now corrected it via BIOS and 'sinbad' suggested it could be the cmos battery beginning to fail (had the pc about 6yrs from new). Would i be right in saying that the bios settings are all i need take note of before replacing the battery?
     
  8. sinbad1

    sinbad1 Deleted User

    Yes you are correct just make a note of the settings in case, more probable that the setting wiill remain.( remove old and replace new in a short space of time should retain bios info)

    follow the replacement method
    Click here

    make sure of the battery polarity + up pretty common battery even supermarkets sell them.

    Regards

    ps
    The only settings you should need to remember are those that
    are changed from the defaults
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 12, 2009
  9. Bulletguy

    Bulletguy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Cheshire/Staffs
    I'll have a look at weekend when i'm in Morrisons! If they don't have any then i'll order off eBay!

    Thanks for that. :thumb:
     
  10. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,250
    Likes Received:
    34,491
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Glad you've got the answer. As Sinbad says, CR2032 batteries are available all over the place. Bound to be somewhere near you that has them.

    Graham
     
Loading...

Share This Page