Autotrail

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Brakers, Mar 28, 2016.

  1. Brakers

    Brakers Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Southampton
    Hi There all you good people.
    I've just bought a Autotrail Cheyenne 840D, I'm trying to learn what all the various pieces of equiptment does. Now the control panel over the door can display various things which most are self explanatory. But the one that is slightly concerning me is the battery when I think everything is turned off and believe me I've searched high and low for swithces etc. it shows -3.7Amps, I thought that the drainage from the battery should be minimal and not -3.7Amps, is that OK or do I need to do some more searching to find the culprit? and any advice as to what I might be missing would be more than helpfull.
    Many Thanks Tony
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  2. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,567
    Likes Received:
    11,545
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    No help finding the the solution but - 3.7A is a lot. It is possible the meter is wrong of course. You could try disconnecting a lead from the leisure batteries and see what it says.
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. MH 55 FUN

    MH 55 FUN Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1,986
    Likes Received:
    2,926
    Location:
    South West Wales.
    I'd suggest putting a multimeter across the leisure battery terminals & see if it's reading correlates with the onboard meter reading
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. Brakers

    Brakers Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Southampton
    Hi Mark or is it Sharon who answered or perhaps Aurora, stranger things have happened, anyway good one yes that's what I'll do not sure where I go from there if it's the same though, but one step at a time.
    Thank You. Tony
     
  5. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,567
    Likes Received:
    11,545
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    You won't measure current putting a meter across the terminals, you need to disconnect a lead then check the current flowing between the terminal and the lead you disconnected. Ensure everything is well vented as there will be a spark if the current drain figure is correct. :)
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. rupert

    rupert Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    leeds
    try pulling fuses one at a time till drain stops this will point you to the relevant circuit
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. MikeD

    MikeD Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,976
    Likes Received:
    1,759
    Location:
    London
    My Autotrail tracker used to pull just below 0.5 amps when at rest.

    The alarm and I understand something to do with the Autotrail entertainment system accounted for this.
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  8. MH 55 FUN

    MH 55 FUN Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1,986
    Likes Received:
    2,926
    Location:
    South West Wales.
    3.7 Amps @ 12 volts is 44.4 watts
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  9. MH 55 FUN

    MH 55 FUN Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1,986
    Likes Received:
    2,926
    Location:
    South West Wales.
    Using a secondary & probably more accurate multimeter will confirm, or not, your onboard meters accuracy & may be a good start
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  10. ambulancekidd

    ambulancekidd Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    1,305
    Location:
    Ayrshire Scotland
    On board gauges are notoriously inaccurate. A multimeter is by far & away the most accurate. Please keep us informed on your finding?
     
    • Like Like x 3
  11. MH 55 FUN

    MH 55 FUN Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1,986
    Likes Received:
    2,926
    Location:
    South West Wales.
    Agreed, & is why I suggested it in post # 3
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Brakers

    Brakers Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Southampton
    Yes wish I had one of those which you clip round the cable, i did have one but don't know what happend to it.
     
  13. Brakers

    Brakers Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Southampton
    Hi Mike If your's used to pull .5 Amps then if mine was like that I would not be worried. That does tell me there is someone stealing my electric, I must find the perps, as the Americans say.
    Thanks Tony
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  14. Brakers

    Brakers Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Southampton
    Is it, WOW Sherlock is on the case!
    Thanks Tony
     
  15. ambulancekidd

    ambulancekidd Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    1,305
    Location:
    Ayrshire Scotland
    Yes I should have added to your quote that I agreed with you, I didn't intend to step on your toes mate.

    I was daft enough to work for Powrtouch caravan movers when I retired from ambulance work & one of the biggest problems was that customers believed their on board gauges & when you showed them the reading on a multimeter they're shock was visible. I have no reason to believe that motorhome gauges are any more accurate.
     
    • Like Like x 5
  16. Brakers

    Brakers Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Southampton
    I'm sure they are not the best meters but surely they are not 3.5 Amps adrift, but I could be wrong.
    Thanks Tony
     
  17. DuxDeluxe

    DuxDeluxe Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    9,343
    Likes Received:
    25,037
    Location:
    Planet Zog
    On my Autosleeper I had a similar issue but it was the Sargent control panel which needed resetting. Don't know if your van has a Sargent unit but it might be worth a look
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  18. Brakers

    Brakers Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Southampton
    Hi David Thanks for that, yes I think I have that type of system, but I will check.
    Is it complicated to reset it or just a pin in a hole somewhere?
    Thanks Tony
     
  19. Dorset Diver

    Dorset Diver Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Somerset
    @Brakers Unless they have been changed for LED's the bulbs that come on when you have the electric locker and wardrobe door open are quite high wattage. Check the reading when they are off. I had a very similar vehicle and a similar problem. Once you have done the check feel free to PM me and I will walk you through other possibilities. David is also correct it may mean the control unit needs to be reset which is relatively easy.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  20. DuxDeluxe

    DuxDeluxe Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    9,343
    Likes Received:
    25,037
    Location:
    Planet Zog
    As far as I recall, it is a bit of a "ctrl/alt/del" sort of exercise.....

    Recalibrating - resetting involves disconnections I think. Suggest to google it - the Sargent website has useful information
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
Loading...

Share This Page