Autotrail sat nav

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Ovalball, Sep 25, 2016.

  1. Ovalball

    Ovalball Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hull
    Has anyone got any info Please on the tomtom sat navs integrated into the media pack on the latest Autotrails Please?Is it possible to import 3rd party points of interest and does it have digital traffic?Thanks.
     
  2. QFour

    QFour Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    Nottingham
    If it's the Fiat UConnect5 then Yes you can put in POI's but only one at a time by hand. The Tom Tom software is stripped down and you cannot even change the voice.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. EX51SSS

    EX51SSS Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    3,279
    Likes Received:
    6,218
    Location:
    North Manchester
    I've never seen anyone ask about Autotrail sat navs before and 2 posts within minutes. Weird.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  4. Late Starting

    Late Starting Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Barnsley, South Yorks
    Ours is a 2015 Auto-trail tracker it does not do traffic, it does not update via tom tom.
    As Fiat did not buy any updates for it also it will not do Lat & Lon search.
    Cliff
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  5. Ovalball

    Ovalball Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hull
    Thanks for the info.Pick mine up in 3 weeks so l will soon find out☹️
     
  6. Chris

    Chris Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16,742
    Likes Received:
    36,878
    Location:
    kent
    Our 2013 Autotrail sat nav is crap.

    Hope yours is better.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. Ovalball

    Ovalball Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hull
    Not expecting it to be.Read conflicting reports about whether HD traffic is available and its ability to import 3rd party points of interest.
     
  8. Gellyneck

    Gellyneck Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,711
    Likes Received:
    2,185
    Location:
    Scotland
    How did you only get a crap one? What arms did you twist to get a better one than the rest of us?
     
    • Funny Funny x 3
  9. zac

    zac Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    261
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Our 2015 model Autotrial Delaware has the Fiat sat nav and it is useless. It is basically a car satnav so no option to imput MH dimensions. We used it once and then never used it again, the update process is done by putting in an SD card and then taking it out an inserting this into your pc to then BUY the maps which are extorniate and much cheaper just to get a standalone unit that will not route you on a car route. The traffic i believe in ours is just the TMC one so no HD traffic.

    I chased this with Fiat and Tomtom when i purchased the vehicle and got no where with it, i wouldn't waste my time with it now. just buy a dedicated unit and save yourself a load of pain.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  10. Steve N Tracy

    Steve N Tracy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    Southampton
    We have the Fiat UConnect in our 2016 Benimar, possible the worst Sat Nav I have ever used slow to start up, sends you down roads and then says do a U turn, and you can only enter POI's one at a time.
    We use our Garmin Camper instead.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  11. taralabradog

    taralabradog Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Snap
     
  12. jessthedog

    jessthedog Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    629
    Location:
    south east
    Ive just bought a great TomTom 6000 truck from a nice funster, you can download POI's in folders, seems like a great piece of kit(y):)
     
  13. zac

    zac Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    261
    Location:
    Hampshire
    This is the unit i have although even this is not without its problems, most of my issues with this is around the traffic and cameras not working and the incompetent people over at tomtom support. it does now work though but as with all satnavs common sense should prevail :)
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  14. jessthedog

    jessthedog Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    629
    Location:
    south east
    Hope he dosent want it back! I bought it off the OP:D
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  15. Bognor Saint

    Bognor Saint Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Bognor Regis
    If you read my post: "12ELE2000 head unit" you discover what I think of the unit fitted to my 2013 Autotrail.
     
  16. QFour

    QFour Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Looked at one for our MH but it started getting very expensive. They also wanted to charge a maintenance fee as it's supposed to be for commercial use. Decided to buy a Blaupunkt Capetown 945 instead. I have a choice of what applications I want to use as it's an Android based system. I have CoPilote Truck running and IGO Primo which is what it came with. Bought it new for around £500 although they have increase because of Brexit.

    I have a FIAT UConnect 5 unit sitting on the shelf in the garage. After trying to add POI file and trying to update maps I gave up. Tom Tom don't want to know they just refer you to Fiat. As far as Fiat are concerned it's just a very basic sat nav.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  17. zac

    zac Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    261
    Location:
    Hampshire
    No idea why they would want a maintenance fee, I brought mine direct from Tom Tom website no other fee to pay aside from the traffic and cameras updates. My new Motorhome which is supposedly arriving next month is coming with a pioneer unit. No idea what one but it does have satnav built in so it will hopefully work. If not it will be back to the tomtom truck 6000. I also have a tomtom caravan Satnav which to be fair has always worked. Only got the new one as bigger screen.
     
  18. QFour

    QFour Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Sorry was thinking of the Tom Tom PRO Truck .. You can have a reversing camera with it.
     
Loading...

Share This Page