Autotrail on a Mercedes chassis-what do you think? (1 Viewer)

life in the slow lane

Free Member
Feb 8, 2017
Midlands
Funster No
MH
Still looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
I am seriously thinking of buying an autotrail motorhome based on a mercedes with the 2.7 cdi engine. Any comments for or against before I take the plunge?

dna

Jan 17, 2010
Llandudno
Funster No
MH
AT Tribute 680 pvc
Exp
since 2009
we looked at a second hand one a couple of years ago, cant remember the engine size but we researched the payload and found it was no where high enough so ended up with an Autotrail on a ducato maxi chassis

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

davejen

Free Member
Aug 21, 2008
Preston
Funster No
MH
Given up travelling
Exp
Since 1992
Have had 2 A/Ts on M ercs, brill, no cambelts to renew/break, Rear wheel drive, so you can drive over wet grass, also no electric gremlins in the dash etc., to me it's a no-brainer.....
Cheers, Dave(y)

Feb 24, 2013
Bolsover, Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer S800
Exp
not long enough
friends of ours bought a brand new AT in 2001, I am sure they paid nearly £5K extra for the Mercedes bit, but with auto as well

we love our Mercedes, but they do still have their gremlins, but maybe less than others, or are there just less Mercedes around (y)

Dec 23, 2014
South Somerset
Funster No
MH
Carthago C-Line I 50
Exp
Since 2009
Mercedes is better than Fiat but having had an Autotrail for three years I would not go near another one.

Jaws

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 26, 2008
Thetford Norfolk
Funster No
MH
C class, Chieftain
Exp
since 2006 ( I think ! )
One of the big entertainments we had this winter in Benidorm was an Autotrail on a Merc chassis

No names no pack drill and all that.. but........................

After a few weeks of issues and chatting about the problems the poor sod was suffering from, I do feel I can offer at least a little valid advice