Autotrail Apache with 3,000cc Turbo Diesel

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Tresan, Mar 28, 2015.

  1. Tresan

    Tresan

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am a Newbie, joined last weekend at the Newark Motorhome Show, I have had the above for a couple of months and it is fitted with the Co0mfortmatic gearbox which I very much like, I saw a performance chip stand at the show that said that both Power and Torque would be boosted.

    Has anyone out there done this and if so does it work and who did purchase it off?

    Thanks,

    Tresan
     
  2. rosalan

    rosalan Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    679
    Location:
    Beds
    A very interesting topic.
    Is it possible that the makers of your van have set it up to use more fuel than it needs to?
    Is it also possible that they have designed it to be less powerful than its competitors?
    Or have they set it up to get the most power from the least fuel use. For sure you can have it set to give more power or to be more economical. I ask myself if Fiat, against all of the commercial competition would design a van to be worse than it needs to be.
    However, if I wish to play games with my insurance validity and spend a couple of hundred pounds finding out, there are plenty of people waiting to take my money.

    Alan
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. daveandsan

    daveandsan Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    1,771
    Location:
    South Staffs
    Hi, I don't have a peformance chip and was put off them by people on here talking about burnt out clutches and other issues.
    I am sure someone will be along soon who knows what they are talking about.
     
  4. Mel

    Mel Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    2,083
    Location:
    De Haan Belgium
    Welcome to Fun
    I dont know the answer.
    My 3 lt is the old model 150pk
    And its enough for me.
    We use to pull 28 tonne with less horse power.


    Mel
     
  5. robnchris

    robnchris Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    1,553
    Location:
    Chester
    We had the 3 litre fiat engine in our 2008 Arapaho, that was remapped considered a better option than the add on boxes.
    Average fuel consumption on motorways was 27 mpg and it was very quick from a standing start.
    Told the insurance company and they informed us that was ok with no increase to the cost of the policy.
     
  6. Tresan

    Tresan

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks so far, I understand about the insurance implications having worked in the industry since 1970 and being a Chartered Insurance Broker, it was just that the guy on the stall stated that it increased mpg and robnchris who had their Arapaho re-mapped seem to confirm this, did a local Fiat agent do this for you?

    Thanks,

    Tresan
     
  7. robnchris

    robnchris Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    1,553
    Location:
    Chester
    Diesel Bob. http://www.dieselbob.co.uk quality service.
     
Loading...

Share This Page