Attachment changes ?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by hilldweller, Oct 28, 2013.

  1. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,451
    Likes Received:
    25,134
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    I've been attaching pictures on here for a good while but today it's different.

    Sent 97K and it was rejected as Too Large, but it liked 95K. It's been accepting a bit under 100K for years.

    Today the three I've attached do not show as thumbnails but as XXXX.jpg

    Is it my stressed old brain ?
     
  2. Minxy Girl

    Minxy Girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,580
    Likes Received:
    9,962
    Location:
    E Yorks
    Nah, I think Jim's just done it so that you can't post any photos of you sitting in your deck chair sunbathing in the nude and frighten us all ... I know Halloween is upon us but there have to be limits! :Rofl1:
     
  3. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,250
    Likes Received:
    34,485
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Mel!! And I used to think you were such a demure young gel :Laughing::Laughing:
     
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,475
    Likes Received:
    16,955
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    not on yer own Brian.....
    i attached, deleted then reattached a pic because it only showed the xxxxjpg.

    gave up in the end and left it as it showed
     
  5. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,451
    Likes Received:
    25,134
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    And another raised it's ugly head again today, I did a "quote" and got a blank edit box. I don't think that ever got explained.
     
  6. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,475
    Likes Received:
    16,955
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    possibly Jim having a 'tweek' on the server.
     
  7. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,451
    Likes Received:
    25,134
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    If it works don't fix it.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  8. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,475
    Likes Received:
    16,955
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    gone the other way now Brian....

    just did a quick attach and shows as an embedded picture, not a thumbnail attachment :Eeek:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 28, 2013
  9. Gooney

    Gooney Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,759
    Likes Received:
    7,774
    Location:
    Flintshire
    It's a penance for damaging Jim's wall:Wink:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,451
    Likes Received:
    25,134
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Had another problem a few times lately....

    Quote a message, type my reply, preview. Preview shows OK, post and "message is 0 length". The edit window is blank.

    So I backspace until the the edit window is back where it was and post, it works.

    Summary:

    The edit box text goes missing, sometimes, when preview is used. Using the explorer back command you can get back to the text before preview was pressed.
     
  11. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    That is a problem I have had on another forum for some time now, so must be an explorer rather than server problem:Angry:
     
  12. callumwa

    callumwa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,113
    Likes Received:
    4,517
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
    Sometimes when typing a message or a reply, if I click on a smiley nothing happens.

    If I look at the preview, I can then subsequently add smileys.

    Been like this for a week or two now. Don't know why.....:Sad:

    I'm using Chrome...... but typing this psot the smileys entered straight away, last night they didn't....

    Weird.....
     
  13. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,451
    Likes Received:
    25,134
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    The very reliable Firefox here.

    When the missing "Quote" text issue came up a few weeks ago we collectively proved it was not the browser.

    I don't use many :Smile: but they are fine here now :BigGrin:
     
  14. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,451
    Likes Received:
    25,134
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    If it uses the same forum engine it might be that not the explorer.
     
  15. canopus

    canopus Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,827
    Likes Received:
    3,207
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    I think there are all sorts of bugs within the forum at the moment. Just tried editing a post Id just made and it booted me off. Also does the same if I press the < key :Angry:
     
  16. movan

    movan Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12,885
    Likes Received:
    22,549
    Location:
    Moving around
  17. movan

    movan Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12,885
    Likes Received:
    22,549
    Location:
    Moving around
    testing something else

    ok it didn't work either :(
    [​IMG]
     
  18. movan

    movan Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12,885
    Likes Received:
    22,549
    Location:
    Moving around
    testing something else again.

    It didn't work again. Give up. Sorry.
    [​IMG]
     
  19. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,860
    Likes Received:
    76,242
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    This happened before, and the culprit was a part of our server operating system upgrading itself and breaking some forum functionality.

    I'm away and only have access via my phone, but it looks like last night, despite our best endeavours its done it again:Doh: Hopefully we will be able to roll it back when your all in bed this evening. Thanks for reporting:thumb:
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page