Astra North/South beam

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Munchie, Dec 11, 2012.

  1. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535
    Likes Received:
    11,669
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    OK it has been said that in Spain you can recieve some channels on the South beam. How do you know which beam you are recieving and do you need to change anything? :Doh:
     
  2. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,462
    Likes Received:
    25,151
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Well listen of course.

    Does it say say bUcket or bOcket ?

    Does it say coUntry or cOuntry ?

    It's not rocket science.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535
    Likes Received:
    11,669
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Eh? Wot??? :Blush:
     
  4. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535
    Likes Received:
    11,669
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    I presume it is some form of sarcasm but I have asked others and no one can make any sense of what you are saying. :RollEyes:
     
  5. Nirvanauk

    Nirvanauk Funster

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,364
    Likes Received:
    6,506
    Location:
    God's county. North Yorkshire.
    I agree!
     
  6. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    you use a site that list which channels are on which beam...

    http://no.kingofsat.net/pos-28.2E.php

    no need to change anything.

    Only Astra 2a and Astra 2b have north and south beams.
    But channels on these satellite will be moved (sometime), to the new Astra 2e, 2f, and 2g satellite over the next year or so - and these have UK and Pan European beams, so no more North and South beams.
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2012
  7. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,462
    Likes Received:
    25,151
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Northern, southern accent. Obvious innit.
     
  8. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535
    Likes Received:
    11,669
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    No, not really. :Smile:
     
  9. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    oh dear not fed yet are we munchie:Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Gunner29

    Gunner29 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    612
    Location:
    Plymouth
    sat dish

    We winter in Spain and currently at Javea. What size dish will I need to receive Astra 2F this year and beyond!
     
  11. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    Oh dear so many people on here making assumptions as to ones Accent north versus south :Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1: Its only the sarf wot speaks the Queens English, dear boy:thumb:
     
  12. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    So will these new sats be on my freesat box, will it find them or do they need to be programmed in. If I do a sat search how will I know I am pointing in the right direction for a new sat, all sounds rather confusing to me.
     
  13. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    2F can be received on a 1m dish in Javea.

    No idea what sized dish you will need for 2E and 2G until they are operational.
     
  14. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    Your Freesat box will not notice any changes.
    Freesat is preprogrammed to look for certain frequencies - not satellites.
    And channel frequency changes are handkled automatically on Freesat.

    If you mean a "free to air" receivers, simply use the sats at 28.2-28.5 - or those listed as astra 2a, 2b, 2d, and eurobird 1.

    The new satellites will be replacing these, and will be in the same location, using the same frequencies.

    Some recepvers allow you to "change" the satellite names, so you can go in and change 2d to 1n / 2f....

    it makes no difference what you call them in the list - you could call the satellites "fred" - as long as the frequencies used are in the receiver - or you do an NIT search then the frequencies will all be updated.
     
  15. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535
    Likes Received:
    11,669
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Now I am really confused :Doh: I thought free to air were terrestial digital nowt to do with satellites???
     
  16. SandJ

    SandJ Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,558
    Likes Received:
    518
    Location:
    North Yorks
  17. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    "free to air" - channels available without viewing card or subscription eg bbc, itv, c4, fives.

    "free to view" - channels available without subscription but do requrie a viewing card - eg Five HD (on satellite)

    "terrestrial digital" channels provides by terrestrial mast to aerial - ie freeview and "digital terrestrial television - DTT.

    (do not mix "free to view" with "freeview" - two seperate things)

    "digital satellite" - extra-terrestrial - via Sky, Freesat, other digital satellite receivers.
    (do not mix "free to air" with "Freesat" - two sewperate things)

    so you can get free to air channels on satellite and terrestrial.
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2013
    • Like Like x 1
  18. aba

    aba

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,793
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Location:
    yorkshire

    ahhh come on Munchie won't be able to get his head around this now if you mentioned food he would understand.

    probably like saying there is minced beef and minced lamb as freesat and freeview and the little balls of fat mixed in both of them being the free to view channels they are kind of the same but different.
     
Loading...

Share This Page