Arriving Bilbao & heading South

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Teuchter, Oct 21, 2015.

1. Teuchter

Teuchter Funster

In January we plan to arrive in Bilbao and travel South to the Med. (a journey we have done several times before) where we will tour for 2 months.

This time we would like to have an automated way of paying for Spanish toll roads as my wife has difficulty reaching the manual pay booths.

Any advice on pre purchasing a Spanish electronic toll tag before departing Blighty or getting one on arrival in Bilbao would be most welcome :)

• Like Like x 1
  2. Lindacarole

Lindacarole Funster

Will watch this post as we are about 3 weeks after you and this sounds like a good idea.
    Did not use the toll roads at all in Spain this year so a complete novice.
    Hope some lovely funster out there helps us both out!
    LC

• Like Like x 1
  3. bryandh

bryandh Funster

• Like Like x 2
  4. vwalan

vwalan Funster

just dont use toll roads . there isno reason to use them .

• Like Like x 2
  5. hilldweller

hilldweller Funster Life Member

>>Arriving Bilbao & heading South

So much better than going north.

Anyway, so may good roads in Spain, no need for toll roads.

• Like Like x 4
  6. PeteH

PeteH Funster

Generally No to Tolls. Like life however there are exceptions. One is the A63 Round Bayone. Keeps you out of the local rat run.

Pete

• Like Like x 1
  7. jumar

jumar Funster

Are you sure your route involves TOLLS? There aren't that many Toll sections in Spain, other than the Med Route south, and that wouldn't be a route from Bilbao. Madrid has a Toll section on one route, but this can be avoided by using the Toll Free Motorways. (Autovias)
    You might post again, asking, Whats the chance of snow in January between Bilbao and southern Spain, last year some problems with heavy snowfall, but the snow ploughs are in place and very quick to getting it sorted.

• Like Like x 1
  8. HymerB544

HymerB544 Funster