Are you having problems with the freeview tv?

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by lindyloot, May 24, 2009.

  1. lindyloot

    lindyloot Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    Yeovil
    We thought that the status 530 aerial that came with out MH was not very good, so we invested in a satellite system.
    a friend of ours wanted an aerial for his tv and went to (the supplier or distributor of the status aerials) the shop, he told them about our findings. They told him if its routed through the white booster box you will get c***p reception. If you take the aerial lead out of the booster and put it directly into the freeview box all will be fine. This afternoon Rich did this and had great reception and 61 freeview channels. He know thinks its a great aerial. Apparently the amplifiers in these boosters interfere with the recievers in modern day freeview boxes and tv's. Lin
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2009
  2. duetto owner

    duetto owner Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    north surrey
    we have a freeview through a booster, locally is poor for signals a lot of the channels, yet down at haying island will get all freeview crystal clear.

    one thing i learn being a novice is to re tune the channels at each location.
     
  3. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    never knew that.:thumb:
    but it could also be the booster is providing too strong a signal.
    they have an attenuator switch next to the power switch to reduce the signal strength if its too strong. try it again and flick the switch to the ATT position.

    it usually happens if you're too close to a transmitter.
    normal cure with a domestic aerial is stick it IN the loft, or the attic if your not from yorkshire
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2009
  4. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,248
    Likes Received:
    5,199
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    Got a Status aerial on the boat going into a booster, BRILLIANT:thumb:

    Peter
     
  5. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,475
    Likes Received:
    25,169
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Believe what you can verify.....

    Status 310 - much inferior to 530.

    Using a 2YO LCD TV/DVD player

    Amplifier on NML - digital TV channels 59
    Amplifier on LOW - digital TV channels 59
    Amplifier bypassed - digital TV channels 12

    Conclusion: The amplifier powers a booster within the aerial and with no power is does not work.

    Gain test: NML 35% signal, LOW 25% signal.

    The "crap" 310 flying saucer actually did very well tonight.
     
  6. johnsandywhite

    johnsandywhite Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Doncaster/Spain
    :Cool: I have used our Freeview USB Dongle on a Laptop through our Kontiki Booster with no problems in Spain and the UK. :Wink:
     
Loading...

Share This Page