Are SMC Newark bad or am I being unreasonable?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Boomkat, Mar 31, 2015.

1. Boomkat

Boomkat Read Only Funster

I'm brand new to the motorhome scene so my partner and I went to the NEC show last year - AMAZING! We were hooked. We saw an amzing Pilote that exceeded all our expectations. The stand was the SMC Newark stand and having spoken to the salesman (who was really helpful), we decided to order our Pilote there and then. We were told that we could expect delivery in January. Having heard absolutely nothing since the show, I rang them in January and they said that actually it would be early March - harrumph. Having heard nothing again, in early March I was told mid March for delivery to the UK and a week or so after I could collect. By mid-March I had not heard anything so rang again and was told some time in the next couple of days. I rang again and was told they have one but they dont know if its mine. I rang again and I'm still waiting a call back. I have booked onto a site for the BH weekend with friends, which I'm guessing means I'm going to have to cancel. The staff have on the whole been really nice and friendly, but utterly inefactual. I have had my expectations so fundamentally mismanaged that I don't know whether this is normal for them / the industry or what! :cry: or :mad: If this is how they are pre-sale, then I'm really worried about what happens post sale. HELP!

2. TheDeckKing

TheDeckKing Read Only Funster

Ask for a full refund. See what reaction that gets!

3. hilldweller

hilldweller Funster Life Member

Industry norm, better get used to it.

4. Boomkat

Honestly - I'm so annoyed with it all. I would ask for a refund, but I really want the mh! Grrrrrrrr.

5. pappajohn

pappajohn Funster Life Member

Then get a refund on the grounds of a broken verbal contract, taking then to the county court if necessary, and go elsewhere.

If more buyers would take this stand the quicker the industry would change.