Apple V PC

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Jim, Aug 14, 2011.

1. Jim

Jim Ringleader

We haven't had a Windoze v Mac debate for a while:BigGrin:

I have been using a top of the range Macbook Pro for around 3 months and thought I would let users know what I think. With a quick comparison.

The hardware
    This is pretty much even-stevens, the mac has some nice touches like the magnetic power connection. The mac displays are superb (mine is the matt anti glare) But at the same price point so are regular PCs. The trackpad on a Mac is far superior to any PC input system, the use of gestures and short cuts are very useful and not at all gimmicky as I first thought.

The software/operating system
    The Mac, contrary to what many will have you believe is clunky, with only the most recent release allowing you to maximise a window without dragging a corner, and even now its a two handed process :Doh: Win 7 is pretty much on a par, maybe even slightly better. But they can do pretty much the same things when it comes to file management etc, both do it well.

The real world
    For working on photos and videos, the Mac and its trackpad win out. In business, the mac is a mere toy compared to the PC, no decent heavyweight accounts or customer relationship programs are available on the Mac. Infact I had to put microsoft email and word-processing programs on mac to make it a viable day to day machine.

So, if i want to do proper work, I have to use the PC. The mac just won't cut it. For playing, browsing and photo editing I would choose the mac. I am lucky enough to have both, but if I could only have one for both business and pleasure, it would have to be the PC every time. :Smile:

• Like Like x 4
  2. Douzeper

Douzeper Funster

Interesting.

Always used PC's but have always wanted a MAC (curiosity more than anything), anyone I know that made the move to MAC sings it's praises and say they would never go back, nice to hear a different perspective.

3. EJB